此页面由 Cloud Translation API 翻译。
Switch to English

平铺布局

图1

图1显示了如何使用2x2平铺将数组F32 [3,5]布置在内存中。具有此布局的形状写为F32 [3,5] {1,0:(2,2)},其中1,0与尺寸的物理顺序(布局中的minor_to_major字段)有关,而(2,2)冒号表示通过2x2瓦片平铺物理尺寸。

直观地布局图块以覆盖形状,然后在每个图块中,然后不进行平铺就对元素进行布局,如上例所示,该示例的右侧部分显示了内存中的布局,包括添加的白色填充元素为了获得完整的2x2切片,即使原始数组边界不均匀也是如此。

填充中的多余元素不需要包含任何特定值。

给定形状和图块的平铺线性指数公式

没有平铺,元素e =在阵列(例如N,E N-1,...,E 1)与数组边界当d =(d N,d N-1,...,d 1)(d1为最次要维度)按以下位置的次要顺序排列:

linear_index(e,d)
= linear_index((e n ,e n-1 ,...,e 1 ),(d n ,d n-1 ,...,d 1 ))
= e n d n-1 ... d 1 + e n-1 d n-2 ... d 1 + ... + e 1

为了简化本文中的符号表示,我们假设图块的维数与数组相同。在XLA的切片实施中,通过将初始的主要最大尺寸保持不变,并且仅将切片应用到最次要尺寸,将其概括为尺寸较小的切片,因此指定的切片提到了物理尺寸的后缀。形状被平铺。

当使用大小为(t n ,t n-1 ,...,t 1 )的切片时,将数组中具有索引(e n ,e n-1 ,...,e 1 )的元素映射到该元素在最终版式中的位置:

linear_index_with_tile(e,d,t)
= linear_index((⌊e/t⌋,e mod t),(⌈d/t⌉,t))(算术是元素方式,(a,b)是串联)
= linear_index((⌊eN / T N⌋,...,⌊e1 / T 1⌋,E N模T N,...,E 1模吨1),(⌈dN / T N⌉, ...,⌈d1 / T 1⌉,T N,T N-1,...,T 1))
= linear_index((⌊eN / T N⌋,...,⌊e1 / T 1⌋),(⌈dN / T N⌉,...,⌈d1 / T 1⌉))∙T N t n-1 ... t 1 + linear_index((e n mod t n ,...,e 1 mod t 1 ),(t n ,t n-1 ,...,t 1 ))

布局可以被认为是具有两个部分:(⌊eN / T N⌋,...,⌊e1 / T 1⌋),其对应于在尺寸的瓦片的阵列的瓦片索引(⌈dÑ / T N⌉,...,⌈d1 / T 1⌉),和(e N模T N,...,E 1模吨1),其对应于一个内瓦片的索引。所述细胞功能出现在⌈dI / T I⌉因为如果瓦片超限较大阵列的边界,填充插入如图1无论是瓷砖和瓦片内的元件被递归布置而不平铺。

对于图1中的示例,对于(1,1,0,1)的组合坐标矢量,元素(2,3)具有图块索引(1,1)和块内索引(0,1)。对于(2、3、2、2)的组合向量,图块索引的边界为(2,3),图块本身为(2,2)。然后,将具有逻辑形状的索引(2,3)的元素的带有图块的线性索引为

linear_index_with_tile((2,3),(3,5),(2,2))
= linear_index((1,1,0,1),(2,3,2,2))
= linear_index((1,1),(2,3))∙2∙2 + linear_index((0,1),(2,2))
=(1∙3 +1)∙2∙2 +(0∙2 +1)
= 17。

平铺为焊盘重塑移调

基于图块的布局操作如下:
考虑一个尺寸为(d n ,d n-1 ,...,d1)的数组(d1是最小尺寸)。当使用大小为(t n ,t n-1 ,...,t 1 )的拼贴进行布局时(t 1是最小尺寸),可以在下面用pad-reshape-transpose来描述该拼贴方式。

  1. 该阵列被填充到(⌈dN / T N⌉∙T N,...,⌈d1 / T 1⌉∙1)。
  2. 每个维度i被分成(⌈dI / T I⌉,T I),即该阵列被整形以
    (⌈dN / T N⌉,T N,...,⌈d1 / T 1⌉,T 1)。
    此重塑本身没有物理布局更改,因此此重塑是位广播。如果未明确考虑平铺,则此重塑可以表示具有与填充形状相同数量的元素的任何形状-这里的示例就是如何以这种方式表示平铺。
  3. 通过将t n ,...,t 1移至最小尺寸,同时保持它们的相对顺序来进行转置,这样从最主要到最小尺寸的尺寸顺序变为
    (⌈dN / T N⌉,...,⌈d1 / T 1⌉,T N,...,T 1)。

最终形状带有前缀
(⌈dN / T N⌉,...,⌈d1 / T 1⌉),其描述了在每一维的片的数目。数组中的一个元素(e n ,...,e 1 )以最终形状映射到该元素:
(⌊eN / T N⌋,...,⌊e0 /吨0⌋,E N模T N,...,E 1模吨1)。不难看出,元素的线性指数符合预期的上述公式。

重复平铺

通过重复应用XLA,平铺图块变得更加灵活。

图2

图2显示了大小为4x8的数组如何通过两层平铺(第一个2x4然后是2x1)进行平铺。我们将此重复拼贴表示为(2,4)(2,1)。每种颜色表示一个2x4的图块,每个红色边框表示一个2x1的图块。数字以平铺格式表示该元素在内存中的线性索引。此格式与TPU上BF16所使用的格式匹配,不同之处在于初始图块较大,即图块为(8,128)(2,1),其中第二次以2x1进行图块的目的是将两个16位值收集到一起以符合TPU架构的方式形成一个32位值。

请注意,第二个或更高版本的图块可以同时引用次要块内维度,后者只是重新排列图块内的数据,如在此示例中使用(8,128)(2,1),但也可以引用主交叉图块之前的拼贴的尺寸。

使用图块组合尺寸

XLA的切片也支持组合尺寸。例如,可以先将F32 [2,7,8,11,10] {4,3,2,1,0}中的尺寸合并到F32 [112,110] {1,0}中,然后再将其与(2,3 )。所使用的图块是(∗,∗,2,∗,3)。此处,图块中的星号表示采用该尺寸并将其与下一个较小的尺寸组合。多个相邻维度可以一起归纳为一个维度。包含的尺寸由该尺寸的瓷砖中的-1值表示,否则在尺寸中作为尺寸尺寸无效。

更准确地说,如果形状的尺寸i通过图块中的星号消除,那么在应用平铺的先前定义之前,该尺寸将从被平铺的形状和图块矢量中删除,而尺寸i-1是形状的数组边界从d i-1增加到d i d i-1 。对图块矢量中的每个星号重复此步骤。

TF 2.0 is out! Get hands-on practice at TF World, Oct 28-31. Use code TF20 for 20% off select passes. Register now

Tiled layout

Figure 1

Figure 1 shows how an array F32[3,5] is laid out in memory with 2x2 tiling. A shape with this layout is written as F32[3,5]{1,0:(2,2)}, where 1,0 relates to the physical order of dimensions (minor_to_major field in Layout) while (2,2) after the colon indicates tiling of the physical dimensions by a 2x2 tile.

Intuitively tiles are laid out to cover the shape and then within each tile, elements are then laid out without tiling, as in the example above, where the right part of the example shows the layout in memory, including the white padding elements that are added in order to have complete 2x2 tiles even though the original array bounds are not even.

The extra elements in the padding are not required to contain any particular value.

Linear index formulas for tiling given a shape and a tile

Without tiling, an element e=(en, en-1, ... , e1) in an array with array bounds d=(dn, dn-1, ... , d1) (d1 is the most minor dimension) is laid out by major to minor order at position:

   linear_index(e, d)
= linear_index((en, en-1, ... , e1), (dn, dn-1, ... , d1))
= endn-1...d1 + en-1dn-2...d1 + ... + e1

For simplicity of notation in this document we assume a tile has the same number of dimensions as the array. In XLA's implementation of tiling, this is generalized to tilings with fewer dimensions by leaving the initial most-major dimensions unchanged and applying the tiling only to the most minor dimensions, so that the tiling that is specified mentions a suffix of the physical dimensions of the shape being tiled.

When tiling of size (tn, tn-1, ... , t1) is used, an element in the array with indices (en, en-1, ... , e1) is mapped to this position in the final layout:

   linear_index_with_tile(e, d, t)
= linear_index((⌊e/t⌋, e mod t), (⌈d/t⌉, t))     (arithmetic is elementwise, (a,b) is concatenation)
= linear_index((⌊en/tn⌋, ... , ⌊e1/t1⌋, en mod tn, ... , e1 mod t1), (⌈dn/tn⌉, ... , ⌈d1/t1⌉, tn, tn-1, ... , t1))
= linear_index((⌊en/tn⌋, ... , ⌊e1/t1⌋), (⌈dn/tn⌉, ... , ⌈d1/t1⌉))∙tntn-1...t1 + linear_index((en mod tn, ... , e1 mod t1), (tn, tn-1, ... , t1))

The layout can be thought of as having two parts: (⌊en/tn⌋, ... , ⌊e1/t1⌋), which corresponds to a tile index in an array of tiles of size (⌈dn/tn⌉, ... , ⌈d1/t1⌉), and (en mod tn, ... , e1 mod t1), which corresponds to a within-tile index. The ceil function appears in ⌈di/ti⌉ because if tiles overrun the bounds of the larger array, padding is inserted as in Figure 1. Both the tiles and elements within tiles are laid out recursively without tiling.

For the example in Figure 1, element (2,3) has tile index (1,1), and within-tile index (0,1), for a combined coordinate vector of (1, 1, 0, 1). The tile indices have bounds (2, 3) and the tile itself is (2, 2) for a combined vector of (2, 3, 2, 2). The linear index with tile for the element with index (2, 3) in the logical shape is then

   linear_index_with_tile((2,3), (3,5), (2,2))
= linear_index((1,1,0,1), (2,3,2,2))
= linear_index((1,1), (2,3)) ∙ 2 ∙ 2 + linear_index((0,1), (2,2))
= (1 ∙ 3 + 1) ∙ 2 ∙ 2 + (0 ∙ 2 + 1)
= 17.

Tiling as pad-reshape-transpose

Tiling-based layout operates as follows:
Consider an array of dimensions (dn, dn-1, ... , d1) (d1 is the most minor dimension). When it’s laid out with tiling of size (tn, tn-1, ... , t1) (t1 is the most minor dimension), that tiling can be described in terms of pad-reshape-transpose in the following way.

  1. The array is padded to (⌈dn/tn⌉∙tn, ... , ⌈d1/t1⌉∙t1).
  2. Each dimension i is broken into (⌈di/ti⌉, ti), i.e. the array is reshaped to
        (⌈dn/tn⌉, tn, ... , ⌈d1/t1⌉, t1).
    There is no physical layout change in this reshape by itself, so this reshape is a bitcast. If one is not explicitly thinking of a tiling, this reshape could express any shape with the same number of elements as the padded shape - the example here is of how to express a tile in this way.
  3. A transpose happens by moving tn, ... , t1 to the most minor dimensions while keeping their relative order, so that the order of dimensions from most major to most minor becomes
        (⌈dn/tn⌉, ... , ⌈d1/t1⌉, tn, ... , t1).

The final shape has the prefix
    (⌈dn/tn⌉, ... , ⌈d1/t1⌉), which describes the number of tiles in each dimension. An element in the array (en, ... , e1) is mapped to this element in the final shape:
    (⌊en/tn⌋, ... , ⌊e0/t0⌋, en mod tn, ... , e1 mod t1). It is easy to see that the linear index of the element follows the formula above as expected.

Repeated tiling

XLA's tiling becomes even more flexible by applying it repeatedly.

Figure 2

Figure 2 shows how an array of size 4x8 is tiled by two levels of tiling (first 2x4 then 2x1). We represent this repeated tiling as (2,4)(2,1). Each color indicates a 2x4 tile and each red border box is a 2x1 tile. The numbers indicates the linear index in memory of that element in the tiled format. This format matches the format used for BF16 on TPU, except that the initial tile is bigger, namely the tiling is (8,128)(2,1), where the purpose of the second tiling by 2x1 is to collect together two 16 bit values to form one 32 bit value in a way that aligns with the architecture of a TPU.

Note that a second or later tile can refer to both the minor within-tile dimensions, which just rearranges data within the tile, as in this example with (8,128)(2,1), but can also refer to the major cross-tile dimensions from the prior tiling.

Combining dimensions using tiles

XLA's tiling also supports combining dimensions. For example, it can combine dimensions in F32[2,7,8,11,10]{4,3,2,1,0} into F32[112,110]{1,0} first before tiling it with (2,3). The tile used is (∗,∗,2,∗,3). Here an asterisk in a tile implies taking that dimension and combining it with the next more minor dimension. Multiple adjacent dimensions can be subsumed together into one dimension. A subsumed dimension is represented by a tile value of -1 in that dimension of the tile, which is not otherwise valid in a tile as a dimension size.

More precisely, if dimension i of the shape is eliminated via an asterisk in the tile, then before the prior definition of tiling is applied, that dimension is removed from both the shape being tiled and the tile vector, and what was dimension i-1 of the shape has its array bound increased from di-1 to didi-1. This step is repeated for each asterisk in the tile vector.