平台和环境

TensorFlow.js有两种工作平台:浏览器和Node.js。不同平台有很多不同的配置,平台间的差异影响着基于平台的应用开发。

在浏览器平台上,TensorFlow.js既支持移动设备,也支持台式设备。虽然设备之间有很多差异,TensorFlow.js提供的WebGL API能够自动检测并做相应的优化配置。

在Node.js平台上,TensorFlow.js既支持直接使用TensorFlow API,也支持更慢的CPU环境。

环境

当一个用TensorFlow.js开发的程序运行时,所有的配置被统称为环境。它包含一个全局的backend,以及一些可以精确控制TensorFlow.js特性的标记。

Backends

TensorFlow.js支持多个不同的backend,用来实现张量的存储和数学操作。任何时候都只有一个backend生效。大部分时间,TensorFlow.js会根据当前环境自动选择使用最佳的backend。即使这样,你仍然需要知道,如何得知当前正在使用的是哪个backend,以及如何在不同backend之间切换。

下面命令用来获取当前正使用的backend

console.log(tf.getBackend());

下面命令用来手动切换backend

tf.setBackend(‘cpu’);
console.log(tf.getBackend());

WebGL backend

WebGL backend,简称“webgl”,是在浏览器平台上最强大的一个backend。它比CPU backend要快100倍。部分原因是,Tensor是作为WebGL纹理保存的,数学运算操作实现在WebGL shader里面。

下面是在使用这个backend时需要了解的一些知识。

避免阻塞UI线程

当调用一个操作,如tf.matMul(a,b)时,返回值tf.Tensor会同步返回,然而这时矩阵乘法运算还不一定完成。这意味着返回值tf.Tensor只是一个指向运算的句柄。当调用x.data()x.array()时,只有当运算完成时才能取到实际值。因此在运算过程中,为避免阻塞UI线程,需要使用异步版本的x.data()x.array(),而不是同步版本的x.dataSync()x.arraySync()

内存管理

强调一下,在使用WebGL backend时,需要显式管理内存。因为存储Tensor的WebGL纹理,不会被浏览器的垃圾收集机制自动清理。

调用dispose()清理tf.Tensor占用的内存

const a = tf.tensor([[1,2], [3,4]]);
a.dispose();

在应用中,经常需要把多个操作组合起来。维持一个对所有中间变量的引用,然后清理其占用的内存,这种方法使代码可读性变差。TensorFlow.js提供tf.tidy()方法清理函数返回时不再需要的tf.Tensor,这就好像函数执行后,本地变量都会被清理一样。

const a = tf.tensor([[1, 2], [3, 4]]);
const y = tf.tidy(() => {
  const result = a.square().log().neg();
  return result;
});

注意:其他非WebGL环境(如Node.js TensorFlow backend或CPU backend)有自动垃圾回收机制,在这些环境下使用dispose()或tidy()没有副作用。实际上,主动调用通常会比垃圾回收的清理带来更好的性能。

精度

在移动设备,WebGL只支持16位浮点纹理操作。然而,大部分机器学习模型都用32位浮点的weight和activation训练的。由于16位浮点数字只能表示[0.000000059605, 65504]这个范围,当把模型移植到移动设备时,它会产生精度问题。你需要保证自己模型中的weight和activation不要超出这个范围。

编译Shader& texture 上传

TensorFlow.js在GPU里执行WebGL的shader程序。然而这些shader只有在被调用时才会被编译,即lazy-compile。编译过程在CPU上的主线程完成,这导致程序变慢。TensorFlow.js会自动缓存编译好的shader,下次再调用有同样shape,同样输入输出的tensor时能快很多。TensorFlow.js开发的应用一般会多次使用同样的操作,因此第二次运行会快很多。

TensorFlow.js还会把tf.Tensor数据存储为WebGL纹理。当一个tf.Tensor被创建后,不会被立即上传到GPU,而是当其被用到时才这么做。如果这个tf.Tensor被第二次使用,由于已经在GPU里,因此省掉了上传开销。在一个典型的机器学习模型中,这意味着weight在第一次预测时被上传,第二次就会快很多。

如果希望加快第一次预测的性能,我们推荐对模型进行预热,即传递一个有同样shape的输入Tensor。 例如:

const model = await tf.loadLayersModel(modelUrl);
// 使用真实数据来预热模型
const warmupResult = model.predict(tf.zeros(inputShape));
warmupResult.dataSync();
warmupResult.dispose();

// 第二次执行 predict() 的时候将会更加快速
const result = model.predict(userData);

Node.js TensorFlow backend

在Node.js TensorFlow backend中,所谓“node”,即TensorFlow的C语言API被用来加速操作。它会尽可能使用机器的硬件加速模块,如CUDA。

在这个backend中,和WebGL backend一样,函数会同步返回tf.Tensor。然而,与WebGL backend不同的是,当你获得这个tensor返回值时,运算已经完成。这意味着tf.matMul(a,b)调用会阻塞UI线程。

因此,如果你在生产环境下使用这个方法,你需要在工作线程中调用,而不是主线程。

更多关于Node.js的信息,请查看相关文档。

CPU backend

这个backend是性能最差的backend,然而是最简单的。所有操作都实现在vanilla JavaScript中,因此很少有并行化,并且会阻塞UI线程。

这个backend对测试有用,或者是用于WebGL不能使用的设备。

Flags

TensorFlow.js有一套环境标记,能够自动评估和检测,保证是当前平台上的最佳配置。这些标记大部分是内部使用,其中有一些全局标记可以被API控制。

  • tf.enableProdMode(): 启用生产模式。它会去掉模型验证,NaN检查,以及其他错误校验操作,从而提高性能。
  • tf.enableDebugMode(): 启用调试模式。它会记录每种操作的日志并输出到到调试台,还记录运行性能信息,如内存footprint和内核执行时间。注意这将极大降低应用运行时间,不可在生产环境中使用。

注:这两种方法应该在程序的最前面调用,因为它们影响所有的其他标记。基于同样的原因,没有相应的disable方法。

注:所有标记在控制台都记录为tf.ENV.features。尽管没有对应的公开API(不需要考虑版本兼容),你可以使用tf.ENV.set来改变这些标记,从而对程序做微调或诊断。

Missed TensorFlow World? Check out the recap. Learn more

Platform and environment

TensorFlow.js works in the browser and Node.js, and in both platforms there are many different available configurations. Each platform has a unique set of considerations that will affect the way applications are developed.

In the browser, TensorFlow.js supports mobile devices as well as desktop devices. Each device has a specific set of constraints, like available WebGL APIs, which are automatically determined and configured for you.

In Node.js, TensorFlow.js supports binding directly to the TensorFlow API or running with the slower vanilla CPU implementations.

Environments

When a TensorFlow.js program is executed, the specific configuration is called the environment. The environment is comprised of a single global backend as well as a set of flags that control fine-grained features of TensorFlow.js.

Backends

TensorFlow.js support multiple different backends that implement tensor storage and mathematical operations. At any given time, only one backend is active. Most of the time, TensorFlow.js will automatically choose the best backend for you given the current environment. However, sometimes it's important to know which backend is being used and how to switch it.

To find which backend you are using:

console.log(tf.getBackend());

If you want to manually change the backend:

tf.setBackend('cpu');
console.log(tf.getBackend());

WebGL backend

The WebGL backend, 'webgl', is currently the most powerful backend for the browser. This backend is up to 100x faster than the vanilla CPU backend. Tensors are stored as WebGL textures and mathematical operations are implemented in WebGL shaders. Here are a few useful things to know when using this backend: \

Avoid blocking the UI thread

When an operation is called, like tf.matMul(a, b), the resulting tf.Tensor is synchronously returned, however the computation of the matrix multiplication may not actually be ready yet. This means the tf.Tensor returned is just a handle to the computation. When you call x.data() or x.array(), the values will resolve when the computation has actually completed. This makes it important to use the asynchronous x.data() and x.array() methods over their synchronous counterparts x.dataSync() and x.arraySync() to avoid blocking the UI thread while the computation completes.

Memory management

One caveat when using the WebGL backend is the need for explicit memory management. WebGLTextures, which is where Tensor data is ultimately stored, are not automatically garbage collected by the browser.

To destroy the memory of a tf.Tensor, you can use the dispose() method:

const a = tf.tensor([[1, 2], [3, 4]]);
a.dispose();

It is very common to chain multiple operations together in an application. Holding a reference to all of the intermediate variables to dispose them can reduce code readability. To solve this problem, TensorFlow.js provides a tf.tidy() method which cleans up all tf.Tensors that are not returned by a function after executing it, similar to the way local variables are cleaned up when a function is executed:

const a = tf.tensor([[1, 2], [3, 4]]);
const y = tf.tidy(() => {
  const result = a.square().log().neg();
  return result;
});
Precision

On mobile devices, WebGL might only support 16 bit floating point textures. However, most machine learning models are trained with 32 bit floating point weights and activations. This can cause precision issues when porting a model for a mobile device as 16 bit floating numbers can only represent numbers in the range [0.000000059605, 65504]. This means that you should be careful that weights and activations in your model do not exceed this range. To check whether the device supports 32 bit textures, check the value of tf.ENV.getBool('WEBGL_RENDER_FLOAT32_CAPABLE'), if this is false then the device only supports 16 bit floating point textures. You can use tf.ENV.getBool('WEBGL_RENDER_FLOAT32_ENABLED') to check if TensorFlow.js is currently using 32 bit textures.

Shader compilation & texture uploads

TensorFlow.js executes operations on the GPU by running WebGL shader programs. These shaders are assembled and compiled lazily when the user asks to execute an operation. The compilation of a shader happens on the CPU on the main thread and can be slow. TensorFlow.js will cache the compiled shaders automatically, making the second call to the same operation with input and output tensors of the same shape much faster. Typically, TensorFlow.js applications will use the same operations multiple times in the lifetime of the application, so the second pass through a machine learning model is much faster.

TensorFlow.js also stores tf.Tensor data as WebGLTextures. When a tf.Tensor is created, we do not immediately upload data to the GPU, rather we keep the data on the CPU until the tf.Tensor is used in an operation. If the tf.Tensor is used a second time, the data is already on the GPU so there is no upload cost. In a typical machine learning model, this means weights are uploaded during the first prediction through the model and the second pass through the model will be much faster.

If you care about the performance of the first prediction through your model or TensorFlow.js code, we recommend warming the model up by passing an input Tensor of the same shape before real data is used.

For example:

const model = await tf.loadLayersModel(modelUrl);

// Warmup the model before using real data.
const warmupResult = model.predict(tf.zeros(inputShape));
warmupResult.dataSync();
warmupResult.dispose();

// The second predict() will be much faster
const result = model.predict(userData);

Node.js TensorFlow backend

In the TensorFlow Node.js backend, 'node', the TensorFlow C API is used to accelerate operations. This will use the machine's available hardware acceleration, like CUDA, if available.

In this backend, just like the WebGL backend, operations return tf.Tensors synchronously. However, unlike the WebGL backend, the operation is completed before you get the tensor back. This means that a call to tf.matMul(a, b) will block the UI thread.

For this reason, if you intend to use this in a production application, you should run TensorFlow.js in worker threads to not block the main thread.

For more information on Node.js, see this guide.

CPU backend

The CPU backend, 'cpu', is the least performant backend, however it is the simplest. Operations are all implemented in vanilla JavaScript, which makes them less parallelizable. They also block the UI thread.

This backend can be very useful for testing, or on devices where WebGL is unavailable.

Flags

TensorFlow.js has a set of environment flags that are automatically evaluated and determine the best configuration in the current platform. These flags are mostly internal, but a few global flags can be controlled with public API.

  • tf.enableProdMode(): enables production mode, which will remove model validation, NaN checks, and other correctness checks in favor of performance.
  • tf.enableDebugMode(): enables debug mode, which will log to the console every operation that is executed, as well as runtime performance information like memory footprint and total kernel execution time. Note that this will greatly slow down your application, do not use this in production.