适用于微控制器的 TensorFlow Lite

适用于微控制器的 TensorFlow Lite 专门用于在微控制器和其他只有几千字节内存的设备上运行机器学习模型。核心运行时可以放入仅有 16 KB 内存的 Arm Cortex M3 上,并且可以运行许多基本模型。它不需要操作系统支持、任何标准 C/C++ 库或动态内存分配。

为什么微控制器非常重要

微控制器通常是小型低功耗计算设备,可嵌入到需要执行基本计算的硬件中。通过将机器学习引入尺寸极小的微控制器,我们可以提升生活中数十亿台设备的智能性,包括家用电器和物联网设备,而无需依赖昂贵的硬件或可靠的互联网连接,这常常受带宽和功率限制,并且会导致出现长时间延迟。由于数据不会离开设备,这还有助于保护隐私。不妨想象下这样一个世界:智能设备能根据您的日常安排自动调整,智能工业传感器能理解问题与正常操作之间的差异,还有神奇的玩具帮助孩子们通过有趣而愉悦的方式进行学习。

支持的平台

适用于微控制器的 TensorFlow Lite 用 C++ 11 编写而成,需要使用 32 位平台。它已针对基于 Arm Cortex-M 系列架构的众多处理器做了广泛的测试,并已移植到其他架构(包括 ESP32)。该框架可作为 Arduino 库提供。它还可以为 Mbed 等开发环境生成项目。它是开源的,可以包含在任何 C++ 11 项目中。

支持的开发板包括:

探索示例

每个示例应用都位于 GitHub 上,并有一个 README.md 文件说明了如何将应用部署到受支持的平台。部分示例还有使用特定平台的端到端教程,如下所示:

工作流程

若要在微控制器上部署并运行 TensorFlow 模型,必须执行以下步骤:

  1. 训练模型
    • 生成小型 TensorFlow 模型,该模型适合您的目标设备并包含支持的操作
    • 使用 TensorFlow Lite 转换器转换为 TensorFlow Lite 模型。
    • 使用标准工具转换为 C 字节数组,以将其存储在设备上的只读程序内存中。
  2. 使用 C++ 库在设备上执行推断并处理结果。

限制

适用于微控制器的 TensorFlow Lite 专为满足微控制器开发的特定限制条件而设计。如果您使用的是更强大的设备(例如 Raspberry Pi 等嵌入式 Linux 设备),那么标准 TensorFlow Lite 框架可能更易于集成。

应考虑以下限制条件:

  • 支持的 TensorFlow 操作有限
  • 支持的设备有限
  • 需要手动管理内存的低阶 C++ API
  • 不支持设备端训练

后续步骤

TensorFlow Lite for Microcontrollers

TensorFlow Lite for Microcontrollers is designed to run machine learning models on microcontrollers and other devices with only few kilobytes of memory. The core runtime just fits in 16 KB on an Arm Cortex M3 and can run many basic models. It doesn't require operating system support, any standard C or C++ libraries, or dynamic memory allocation.

Why microcontrollers are important

Microcontrollers are typically small, low-powered computing devices that are embedded within hardware that requires basic computation. By bringing machine learning to tiny microcontrollers, we can boost the intelligence of billions of devices that we use in our lives, including household appliances and Internet of Things devices, without relying on expensive hardware or reliable internet connections, which is often subject to bandwidth and power constraints and results in high latency. This can also help preserve privacy, since no data leaves the device. Imagine smart appliances that can adapt to your daily routine, intelligent industrial sensors that understand the difference between problems and normal operation, and magical toys that can help kids learn in fun and delightful ways.

Supported platforms

TensorFlow Lite for Microcontrollers is written in C++ 11 and requires a 32-bit platform. It has been tested extensively with many processors based on the Arm Cortex-M Series architecture, and has been ported to other architectures including ESP32. The framework is available as an Arduino library. It can also generate projects for development environments such as Mbed. It is open source and can be included in any C++ 11 project.

The following development boards are supported:

Explore the examples

Each example application is on Github and has a README.md file that explains how it can be deployed to its supported platforms. Some examples also have end-to-end tutorials using a specific platform, as given below:

Workflow

The following steps are required to deploy and run a TensorFlow model on a microcontroller:

  1. Train a model:
  2. Run inference on device using the C++ library and process the results.

Limitations

TensorFlow Lite for Microcontrollers is designed for the specific constraints of microcontroller development. If you are working on more powerful devices (for example, an embedded Linux device like the Raspberry Pi), the standard TensorFlow Lite framework might be easier to integrate.

The following limitations should be considered:

  • Support for a limited subset of TensorFlow operations
  • Support for a limited set of devices
  • Low-level C++ API requiring manual memory management
  • On device training is not supported

Next steps