建立与转换模型

微控制器具有有限的 RAM 和存储空间,这限制了机器学习模型的规模。此外,面向微控制器的 TensorFlow Lite 目前只支持有限的一部分运算,因此并非所有的模型结构都是可行的。

本文档解释了转换一个 TensorFlow 模型以使其可在微控制器上运行的过程。本文档也概述了可支持的运算,并对于设计与训练一个模型以使其符合内存限制给出了一些指导。

一个端到端的、可运行的建立与转换模型的示例,见于如下的 Jupyter notebook 中: create_sine_model.ipynb

模型转换

为了转换一个已训练好的 TensorFlow 模型以使其可在微控制器上运行,你应该使用 TensorFlow Lite 转换器 Python API 。它能够将模型转换成 FlatBuffer 格式,减小模型规模,并修改模型以使用 TensorFlow Lite 支持的运算。

量化

为了获得尽可能小的模型规模,你应该考虑使用训练后量化。它会降低你模型中数字的精度,从而减小模型规模。不过,这种操作可能会导致模型准确性的下降,对于小规模模型来说尤为如此。在量化前后分析你模型的准确性以确保这种损失在可接受范围内是非常重要的。

以下的 Python 代码片段展示了如何使用预训练量化进行模型转换:

import tensorflow as tf
converter = tf.lite.TFLiteConverter.from_saved_model(saved_model_dir)
converter.optimizations = [tf.lite.Optimize.OPTIMIZE_FOR_SIZE]
tflite_quant_model = converter.convert()
open("converted_model.tflite", "wb").write(tflite_quant_model)

转换为一个 C 数组

许多微控制器平台没有本地文件系统的支持。从程序中使用一个模型最简单的方式是将其以一个 C 数组的形式包含并编译进你的程序。

以下的 unix 命令会生成一个以 char 数组形式包含 TensorFlow Lite 模型的 C 源文件:

xxd -i converted_model.tflite > model_data.cc

其输出类似如下:

unsigned char converted_model_tflite[] = {
  0x18, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00, 0x54, 0x46, 0x4c, 0x33, 0x00, 0x00, 0x0e, 0x00,
  // <Lines omitted>
};
unsigned int converted_model_tflite_len = 18200;

一旦你已经生成了此文件,你可以将它包含入你的程序。在嵌入式平台上,将数组声明改变为 const 类型以获得更好的内存效率是重要的。

一个如何在你的程序中包含及使用模型的例子,请见微型语音示例中的 tiny_conv_micro_features_model_data.h

模型结构与训练

在设计一个面向微控制器的模型时,考虑模型的规模、工作负载,以及用到的运算是非常重要的。

模型规模

一个模型必须在二进制和运行时方面都足够小,以使其可以和你程序的其他部分一起符合你目标设备的内存限制。

为了创建一个更小的模型,你可以在你的结构里使用更少和更小的层。然而,小规模的模型更易面临欠拟合问题。这意味着对于许多问题,尝试并使用符合内存限制的尽可能大规模的模型是有意义的。但是,使用更大规模的模型也会导致处理器工作负载的增加。

注:在一个 Cortex M3 上,面向微控制器的 TensorFlow Lite 的核心运行时占 16 KB。

工作负载

工作负载受到模型规模与复杂度的影响。大规模、复杂的模型可能会导致更高的占空比,即导致你所用设备处理器的工作时间增长、空闲时间缩短。视你的应用,这种情况所带来的电力消耗与热量输出的增加可能会成为一个问题。

运算支持

面向微控制器的 TensorFlow Lite 目前仅支持有限的部分 TensorFlow 运算,这影响了可以运行的模型结构。我们正致力于在参考实现和针对特定结构的优化方面扩展运算支持。

已支持的运算可以在文件 all_ops_resolver.cc 中看到。

Missed TensorFlow World? Check out the recap. Learn more

Build and convert models

Microcontrollers have limited RAM and storage, which places constraints on the sizes of machine learning models. In addition, TensorFlow Lite for Microcontrollers currently supports a limited subset of operations, so not all model architectures are possible.

This document explains the process of converting a TensorFlow model to run on microcontrollers. It also outlines the supported operations and gives some guidance on designing and training a model to fit in limited memory.

For an end-to-end, runnable example of building and converting a model, see the following Colab which is part of the Hello World example:

create_sine_model.ipynb

Model conversion

To convert a trained TensorFlow model to run on microcontrollers, you should use the TensorFlow Lite converter Python API. This will convert the model into a FlatBuffer, reducing the model size, and modify it to use TensorFlow Lite operations.

Quantization

To obtain the smallest possible model size, you should consider using Post-training quantization. This will reduce the precision of the numbers in your model, which results in a smaller model size. However, this is likely to reduce accuracy, particularly for small models. It is important to profile the accuracy of your model before and after quantization to confirm that this loss is acceptable.

The following Python snippet shows how to convert a model using post-training quantization:

import tensorflow as tf
converter = tf.lite.TFLiteConverter.from_saved_model(saved_model_dir)
converter.optimizations = [tf.lite.Optimize.DEFAULT]
quantized_model = converter.convert()
open("converted_model.tflite", "wb").write(quantized_model)

Convert to a C array

Many microcontroller platforms do not have native filesystem support. The easiest way to use a model from your program is to include it as a C array and compile it into your program.

The following unix command will generate a C source file that contains the TensorFlow Lite model as a char array:

xxd -i converted_model.tflite > model_data.cc

The output will look similar to the following:

unsigned char converted_model_tflite[] = {
  0x18, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00, 0x54, 0x46, 0x4c, 0x33, 0x00, 0x00, 0x0e, 0x00,
  // <Lines omitted>
};
unsigned int converted_model_tflite_len = 18200;

Once you have generated the file, you can include it in your program. It is important to change the array declaration to const for better memory efficiency on embedded platforms.

For an example of how to include and use a model in your program, see sine_model_data.cc in the Hello World example.

Model architecture and training

When designing a model for use on microcontrollers, it is important to consider the model size, workload, and the operations that are used.

Model size

A model must be small enough to fit within your target device's memory alongside the rest of your program, both as a binary and at runtime.

To create a smaller model, you can use fewer and smaller layers in your architecture. However, small models are more likely to suffer from underfitting. This means for many problems, it makes sense to try and use the largest model that will fit in memory. However, using larger models will also lead to increased processor workload.

Workload

The size and complexity of the model has an impact on workload. Large, complex models might result in a higher duty cycle, which means your device's processor is spending more time working and less time idle. This will increase power consumption and heat output, which might be an issue depending on your application.

Operation support

TensorFlow Lite for Microcontrollers currently supports a limited subset of TensorFlow operations, which impacts the model architectures that it is possible to run. We are working on expanding operation support, both in terms of reference implementations and optimizations for specific architectures.

The supported operations can be seen in the file all_ops_resolver.cc