Have a question? Connect with the community at the TensorFlow Forum Visit Forum

TensorFlow Lite 委托

简介

委托会利用设备端的加速器(如 GPU 和数字信号处理器 (DSP) 来启用 TensorFlow Lite 模型的硬件加速。

默认情况下,TensorFlow Lite 会使用针对 ARM Neon 指令集进行了优化的 CPU 内核。但是,CPU 是一种多用途处理器,不一定会针对机器学习模型中常见的繁重计算(例如,卷积层和密集层中的矩阵数学)进行优化。

另一方面,大多数现代手机包含的芯片在处理这些繁重运算方面表现更好。将它们用于神经网络运算,可以在延迟和功率效率方面带来巨大好处。例如,GPU 可以在延迟方面提供高达 5 倍的加速,而 Qualcomm® Hexagon DSP 在我们的实验中显示可以降低高达 75% 的功耗。

这些加速器均具有支持自定义计算的相关 API,例如用于移动 GPU 的 OpenCLOpenGL ES,以及用于 DSP 的 Qualcomm® Hexagon SDK。通常情况下,您必须编写大量自定义代码才能通过这些接口运行神经网络。当考虑到每个加速器各有利弊,并且无法执行神经网络中的所有运算时,事情就会变得更加复杂。TensorFlow Lite 的 Delegate API 通过作为 TFLite 运行时和这些较低级别 API 之间的桥梁,解决了这个问题。

runtime with delegates

选择委托

TensorFlow Lite 支持多种委托,每种委托都针对特定的平台和特定类型的模型进行了优化。通常情况下,会有多种委托适用于您的用例,这取决于两个主要标准:平台(Android 还是 iOS?),以及您要加速的模型类型(浮点还是量化?)。

按平台分类的委托

跨平台(Android 和 iOS)

  • GPU 委托 - GPU 委托在 Android 和 iOS 上都可以使用。它经过了优化,可以在有 GPU 的情况下运行基于 32 位和 16 位浮点的模型。它还支持 8 位量化模型,并可以提供与其浮点版本相当的 GPU 性能。有关 GPU 委托的详细信息,请参阅适用于 GPU 的 TensorFlow Lite。有关在 Android 和 iOS 上使用 GPU 委托的分步教程,请参阅 TensorFlow Lite GPU 委托教程

Android

  • 适用于较新 Android 设备的 NNAPI 委托 - NNAPI 委托可用于在具有 GPU、DSP 和/或 NPU 的设备上加速模型。它在 Android 8.1 (API 27+) 或更高版本中可用。有关 NNAPI 委托的概述、分布说明和最佳做法,请参阅 TensorFlow Lite NNAPI 委托
  • 适用于较旧 Android 设备的 Hexagon 委托 - Hexagon 委托可用于在具有 Qualcomm Hexagon DSP 的 Android 设备上加速模型。它可以在运行较旧版本 Android(不支持 NNAPI)的设备上使用。有关详细信息,请参阅 TensorFlow Lite Hexagon 委托

iOS

  • 适用于较新 iPhone 和 iPad 的 Core ML 委托 - 对于提供了 Neural Engine 的较新的 iPhone 和 iPad,您可以使用 Core ML 委托来加快 32 位或 16 位 浮点模型的推断。Neural Engine 适用于具有 A12 SoC 或更高版本的 Apple 移动设备。有关 Core ML 委托的概述和分步说明,请参阅 TensorFlow Lite Core ML 委托

按模型类型分类的委托

每种加速器的设计都考虑了一定的数据位宽。如果为只支持 8 位量化运算的委托(例如 Hexagon 委托)提供浮点模型,它将拒绝其所有运算,并且模型将完全在 CPU 上运行。为了避免此类意外,下表提供了基于模型类型的委托支持概览:

模型类型 GPU NNAPI Hexagon CoreML
浮点(32 位)
训练后 float16 量化
训练后动态范围量化
训练后整数量化
量化感知训练

验证性能

本部分的信息可作为一个粗略指南,用于筛选可以改进您的应用的委托。但是,需要注意的是,每种委托都有一组支持的预定义运算,且执行情况可能会因模型和设备而异;例如,NNAPI 委托可能会选择在 Pixel 手机上使用 Google 的 Edge-TPU,而在其他设备上使用 DSP。因此,通常建议您进行一些基准测试,以衡量委托对您的需求有多大用处。这还有助于判断与将委托附加到 TensorFlow Lite 运行时相关的二进制文件大小的增加是否合理。

TensorFlow Lite 拥有丰富的性能和准确率评估工具,可以让开发者有信心在其应用中使用委托。下一部分将讨论这些工具。

评估工具

延迟和内存占用

TensorFlow Lite 的基准测试工具可以使用合适的参数来评估模型性能,包括平均推断延迟、初始化开销、内存占用等。此工具支持多个标志,以确定模型的最佳委托配置。例如,--gpu_backend=gl 可以使用 --use_gpu 指定,以衡量 OpenGL 的 GPU 执行情况。详细文档中定义了受支持的委托参数的完整列表。

下面是一个通过 adb 使用 GPU 运行量化模型的示例:

adb shell /data/local/tmp/benchmark_model \
  --graph=/data/local/tmp/mobilenet_v1_224_quant.tflite \
  --use_gpu=true

您可以在此处下载该工具的 Android 64 位 ARM 架构预构建版本(详细信息)。

准确率和正确性

委托通常会以不同于 CPU 的精度执行计算。因此,在利用委托进行硬件加速时,会有(通常较小)精度折衷。请注意,情况并不总是这样;例如,由于 GPU 会使用浮点精度来运行量化模型,精度可能会略有提升(例如,ILSVRC 图像分类 Top-5 提升 <1%)。

TensorFlow Lite 有两种类型的工具来衡量委托对于给定模型的行为的准确性:基于任务的与任务无关的。本节描述的所有工具都支持前一部分基准测试工具使用的高级委托参数。请注意,下面的小节关注的是委托评估(委托是否与 CPU 性能相同?)而非模型评估(模型本身是否适合任务?)。

基于任务的评估

TensorFlow Lite 具有用于评估两个基于图像的任务的正确性的工具:

这些工具(Android,64 位 ARM 架构)的预构建二进制文件以及文档可在以下位置找到:

下面的示例演示了在 Pixel 4 上利用 Google 的 Edge-TPU 使用 NNAPI 进行的图像分类评估

adb shell /data/local/tmp/run_eval \
  --model_file=/data/local/tmp/mobilenet_quant_v1_224.tflite \
  --ground_truth_images_path=/data/local/tmp/ilsvrc_images \
  --ground_truth_labels=/data/local/tmp/ilsvrc_validation_labels.txt \
  --model_output_labels=/data/local/tmp/model_output_labels.txt \
  --output_file_path=/data/local/tmp/accuracy_output.txt \
  --num_images=0 # Run on all images. \
  --use_nnapi=true \
  --nnapi_accelerator_name=google-edgetpu

预期的输出是一个从 1 到 10 的 Top-K 指标列表:

Top-1 Accuracy: 0.733333
Top-2 Accuracy: 0.826667
Top-3 Accuracy: 0.856667
Top-4 Accuracy: 0.87
Top-5 Accuracy: 0.89
Top-6 Accuracy: 0.903333
Top-7 Accuracy: 0.906667
Top-8 Accuracy: 0.913333
Top-9 Accuracy: 0.92
Top-10 Accuracy: 0.923333

与任务无关的评估

对于没有现成设备端评估工具的任务,或者如果您在尝试使用自定义模型,TensorFlow Lite 提供了 Inference Diff 工具。(Android,64 位 ARM 二进制架构二进制文件见此处

Inference Diff 会比较以下两种设置的 TensorFlow Lite 执行情况(在延迟和输出值偏差方面):

  • 单线程 CPU 推断
  • 用户定义的推断 - 由这些参数定义

为此,该工具会生成随机高斯数据,并将其传递给两个 TFLite 解释器:一个运行单线程 CPU 内核,另一个通过用户的参数进行参数化。

它会以每个元素为基础,测量两者的延迟,以及每个解释器的输出张量之间的绝对差。

对于具有单个输出张量的模型,输出可能如下所示:

Num evaluation runs: 50
Reference run latency: avg=84364.2(us), std_dev=12525(us)
Test run latency: avg=7281.64(us), std_dev=2089(us)
OutputDiff[0]: avg_error=1.96277e-05, std_dev=6.95767e-06

这意味着,对于索引 0 处的输出张量,CPU 输出的元素与委托输出的元素平均相差 1.96e-05

请注意,解释这些数字需要对模型和每个输出张量的含义有更深入的了解。如果它是确定某种分数或嵌入的简单回归,那么差异应该很小(否则为委托错误)。然而,像 SSD 模型中的“检测类”这样的输出有点难以解释。例如,使用此工具可能会显示出差异,但这并不意味着委托真的有什么问题:请考虑两个(假)类:“TV (ID: 10)”,“Monitor (ID:20)”。如果某个委托稍微偏离了黄金真理,并且显示的是 Monitor 而非 TV,那么这个张量的输出差异可能会高达 20-10 = 10。

TensorFlow Lite Delegates

Introduction

Delegates enable hardware acceleration of TensorFlow Lite models by leveraging on-device accelerators such as the GPU and Digital Signal Processor (DSP).

By default, TensorFlow Lite utilizes CPU kernels that are optimized for the ARM Neon instruction set. However, the CPU is a multi-purpose processor that isn't necessarily optimized for the heavy arithmetic typically found in Machine Learning models (for example, the matrix math involved in convolution and dense layers).

On the other hand, most modern mobile phones contain chips that are better at handling these heavy operations. Utilizing them for neural network operations provides huge benefits in terms of latency and power efficiency. For example, GPUs can provide upto a 5x speedup in latency, while the Qualcomm® Hexagon DSP has shown to reduce power consumption upto 75% in our experiments.

Each of these accelerators have associated APIs that enable custom computations, such as OpenCL or OpenGL ES for mobile GPU and the Qualcomm® Hexagon SDK for DSP. Typically, you would have to write a lot of custom code to run a neural network though these interfaces. Things get even complicated when you consider that each accelerator has its pros & cons and cannot execute every operation in a neural network. TensorFlow Lite's Delegate API solves this problem by acting as a bridge between the TFLite runtime and these lower-level APIs.

runtime with delegates

Choosing a Delegate

TensorFlow Lite supports multiple delegates, each of which is optimized for certain platform(s) and particular types of models. Usually, there will be multiple delegates applicable to your use-case, depending on two major criteria: the Platform (Android or iOS?) you target, and the Model-type (floating-point or quantized?) that you are trying to accelerate.

Delegates by Platform

Cross-platform (Android & iOS)

  • GPU delegate - The GPU delegate can be used on both Android and iOS. It is optimized to run 32-bit and 16-bit float based models where a GPU is available. It also supports 8-bit quantized models and provides GPU performance on par with their float versions. For details on the GPU delegate, see TensorFlow Lite on GPU. For step-by-step tutorials on using the GPU delegate with Android and iOS, see TensorFlow Lite GPU Delegate Tutorial.

Android

  • NNAPI delegate for newer Android devices - The NNAPI delegate can be used to accelerate models on Android devices with GPU, DSP and / or NPU available. It is available in Android 8.1 (API 27+) or higher. For an overview of the NNAPI delegate, step-by-step instructions and best practices, see TensorFlow Lite NNAPI delegate.
  • Hexagon delegate for older Android devices - The Hexagon delegate can be used to accelerate models on Android devices with Qualcomm Hexagon DSP. It can be used on devices running older versions of Android that do not support NNAPI. See TensorFlow Lite Hexagon delegate for more detail.

iOS

  • Core ML delegate for newer iPhones and iPads - For newer iPhones and iPads where Neural Engine is available, you can use Core ML delegate to accelerate inference for 32-bit or 16-bit floating-point models. Neural Engine is available Apple mobile devices with A12 SoC or higher. For an overview of the Core ML delegate and step-by-step instructions, see TensorFlow Lite Core ML delegate.

Delegates by model type

Each accelerator is designed with a certain bit-width of data in mind. If you provide a floating-point model to a delegate that only supports 8-bit quantized operations (such as the Hexagon delegate), it will reject all its operations and the model will run entirely on the CPU. To avoid such surprises, the table below provides an overview of delegate support based on model type:

Model Type GPU NNAPI Hexagon CoreML
Floating-point (32 bit) Yes Yes No Yes
Post-training float16 quantization Yes No No Yes
Post-training dynamic range quantization Yes Yes No No
Post-training integer quantization Yes Yes Yes No
Quantization-aware training Yes Yes Yes No

Validating performance

The information in this section acts as a rough guideline for shortlisting the delegates that could improve your application. However, it is important to note that each delegate has a pre-defined set of operations it supports, and may perform differently depending on the model and device; for example, the NNAPI delegate may choose to use Google's Edge-TPU on a Pixel phone while utilizing a DSP on another device. Therefore, it is usually recommended that you perform some benchmarking to gauge how useful a delegate is for your needs. This also helps justify the binary size increase associated with attaching a delegate to the TensorFlow Lite runtime.

TensorFlow Lite has extensive performance and accuracy-evaluation tooling that can empower developers to be confident in using delegates in their application. These tools are discussed in the next section.

Tools for Evaluation

Latency & memory footprint

TensorFlow Lite’s benchmark tool can be used with suitable parameters to estimate model performance, including average inference latency, initialization overhead, memory footprint, etc. This tool supports multiple flags to figure out the best delegate configuration for your model. For instance, --gpu_backend=gl can be specified with --use_gpu to measure GPU execution with OpenGL. The complete list of supported delegate parameters is defined in the detailed documentation.

Here’s an example run for a quantized model with GPU via adb:

adb shell /data/local/tmp/benchmark_model \
  --graph=/data/local/tmp/mobilenet_v1_224_quant.tflite \
  --use_gpu=true

You can download pre-built version of this tool for Android, 64-bit ARM architecture here (more details).

Accuracy & correctness

Delegates usually perform computations at a different precision than their CPU counterparts. As a result, there is an (usually minor) accuracy tradeoff associated with utilizing a delegate for hardware acceleration. Note that this isn't always true; for example, since the GPU uses floating-point precision to run quantized models, there might be a slight precision improvement (for e.g., <1% Top-5 improvement in ILSVRC image classification).

TensorFlow Lite has two types of tooling to measure how accurately a delegate behaves for a given model: Task-Based and Task-Agnostic. All the tools described in this section support the advanced delegation parameters used by the benchmarking tool from the previous section. Note that the sub-sections below focus on delegate evaluation (Does the delegate perform the same as the CPU?) rather than model evaluation (Is the model itself good for the task?).

Task-Based Evaluation

TensorFlow Lite has tools to evaluate correctness on two image-based tasks:

Prebuilt binaries of these tools (Android, 64-bit ARM architecture), along with documentation can be found here:

The example below demonstrates image classification evaluation with NNAPI utilizing Google's Edge-TPU on a Pixel 4:

adb shell /data/local/tmp/run_eval \
  --model_file=/data/local/tmp/mobilenet_quant_v1_224.tflite \
  --ground_truth_images_path=/data/local/tmp/ilsvrc_images \
  --ground_truth_labels=/data/local/tmp/ilsvrc_validation_labels.txt \
  --model_output_labels=/data/local/tmp/model_output_labels.txt \
  --output_file_path=/data/local/tmp/accuracy_output.txt \
  --num_images=0 # Run on all images. \
  --use_nnapi=true \
  --nnapi_accelerator_name=google-edgetpu

The expected output is a list of Top-K metrics from 1 to 10:

Top-1 Accuracy: 0.733333
Top-2 Accuracy: 0.826667
Top-3 Accuracy: 0.856667
Top-4 Accuracy: 0.87
Top-5 Accuracy: 0.89
Top-6 Accuracy: 0.903333
Top-7 Accuracy: 0.906667
Top-8 Accuracy: 0.913333
Top-9 Accuracy: 0.92
Top-10 Accuracy: 0.923333

Task-Agnostic Evaluation

For tasks where there isn't an established on-device evaluation tool, or if you are experimenting with custom models, TensorFlow Lite has the Inference Diff tool. (Android, 64-bit ARM binary architecture binary here)

Inference Diff compares TensorFlow Lite execution (in terms of latency & output-value deviation) in two settings:

  • Single-threaded CPU Inference
  • User-defined Inference - defined by these parameters

To do so, the tool generates random Gaussian data and passes it through two TFLite Interpreters - one running single-threaded CPU kernels, and the other parametrized by the user's arguments.

It measures the latency of both, as well as the absolute difference between the output tensors from each Interpreter, on a per-element basis.

For a model with a single output tensor, the output might look like this:

Num evaluation runs: 50
Reference run latency: avg=84364.2(us), std_dev=12525(us)
Test run latency: avg=7281.64(us), std_dev=2089(us)
OutputDiff[0]: avg_error=1.96277e-05, std_dev=6.95767e-06

What this means is that for the output tensor at index 0, the elements from the CPU output different from the delegate output by an average of 1.96e-05.

Note that interpreting these numbers requires deeper knowledge of the model, and what each output tensor signifies. If its a simple regression that determines some sort of score or embedding, the difference should be low (otherwise it's an error with the delegate). However, outputs like the 'detection class' one from SSD models is a little harder to interpret. For example, it might show a difference using this tool, but that may not mean something really wrong with the delegate: consider two (fake) classes: "TV (ID: 10)", "Monitor (ID:20)" - If a delegate is slightly off the golden truth and shows monitor instead of TV, the output diff for this tensor might be something as high as 20-10 = 10.