RSVP for your your local TensorFlow Everywhere event today!

使用 TensorBoard Debugger V2 调试 TensorFlow 程序中的数值问题

:tf.debugging.experimental.enable_dump_debug_info() 是实验性 API,将来可能发生重大变更。

在 TensorFlow 程序期间,有时可能会发生涉及 NaN 的灾难性事件,从而破坏模型训练过程。此类事件的根本原因通常难以查找,尤其是对于较大和复杂程度较高的模型。为了更轻松地调试此类模型错误,TensorBoard 2.3+(与 TensorFlow 2.3+ 一起)提供了一个名为 Debugger V2 的专用信息中心。在本文中,我们将在使用 TensorFlow 编写的神经网络中,通过解决涉及 NaN 的真实错误来演示如何使用此工具。

本教程中演示的技术适用于其他类型的调试活动(例如在复杂程序中检查运行时张量形状)。本教程重点介绍 NaN,因为它们的发生频率相对较高。

观察错误

我们将调试的 TF2 程序的源代码可在 GitHub 上找到。该示例程序还打包在 TensorFlow pip 软件包(版本 2.3+)中,并且可以通过以下方式调用:

python -m tensorflow.python.debug.examples.v2.debug_mnist_v2

此 TF2 程序可创建一个多层感知 (MLP) 并对其进行训练以识别 MNIST 图像。本示例特意使用 TF2 的低级 API 来定义自定义层构造、损失函数和训练循环,因为与使用较为易用但不太灵活的高级 API(如 tf.keras)相比,使用此更灵活但更易出错的 API 时,出现 NaN 错误的可能性更高。

程序会在每个训练步骤之后打印测试准确率。我们可以在控制台中看到,在第一个步骤之后,测试准确率卡在了接近随机水平的地方 (~0.1)。这显然不是模型训练所预期的效果:我们希望准确率随着步骤的增加逐渐接近 1.0 (100%)。

Accuracy at step 0: 0.216
Accuracy at step 1: 0.098
Accuracy at step 2: 0.098
Accuracy at step 3: 0.098
...

根据经验作出的猜测是,此问题是由数值不稳定(如 NaN 或无穷大)引起的。但是,我们该如何确定这就是原因,以及如何找到产生数值不稳定的 TensorFlow 算子呢?为了回答这些问题,我们使用 Debugger V2 检测一下这个包含错误的程序。

使用 Debugger V2 检测 TensorFlow 代码

tf.debugging.experimental.enable_dump_debug_info() 是 Debugger V2 的 API 入口点。它使用单行代码来检测 TF2 程序。例如,在程序的开头附近添加以下行会将调试信息写入位于 /tmp/tfdbg2_logdir 的日志目录 (logdir)。调试信息涵盖 TensorFlow 运行时的各个方面。在 TF2 中,它包括 Eager Execution 的完整历史记录、通过 @tf.function 执行的计算图构建、计算图的执行、由执行事件生成的张量值,以及这些事件的代码位置(Python 堆栈跟踪)。丰富的调试信息能够帮助用户缩小难以查找的错误的范围。

tf.debugging.experimental.enable_dump_debug_info(
    logdir="/tmp/tfdbg2_logdir",
    tensor_debug_mode="FULL_HEALTH",
    circular_buffer_size=-1)

tensor_debug_mode 参数控制 Debugger V2 从每个 Eager 或计算图内张量中提取哪些信息。“FULL_HEALTH”是一种模式,它会捕获有关每个浮点型张量(例如,常见的 float32 和不太常见的 bfloat16 数据类型)的以下信息:

  • 数据类型
  • 元素总数
  • 浮点型元素可以细分为以下类别:负有限 (-)、零 (0)、正有限 (+)、负无穷 (-∞)、正无穷 (+∞) 和 NaN

“FULL_HEALTH”模式适用于调试涉及 NaN 和无穷的错误。请参阅下文了解其他受支持的 tensor_debug_mode

circular_buffer_size 参数控制保存到 logdir 中的张量事件的数量。默认值为 1000,这样仅会将所检测的 TF2 程序结束前的最后 1000 个张量保存到磁盘。此默认行为会以牺牲调试数据的完整性来减少调试器的开销。如果首选完整性(比如在本文所述的情况下),我们可以通过将参数设置为负值(例如,本文为 -1)来停用循环缓冲区。

debug_mnist_v2 示例通过向 enable_dump_debug_info() 传递命令行标记来对它进行调用。要在启用调试检测的情况下再次运行有问题的 TF2 程序,请执行以下代码:

python -m tensorflow.python.debug.examples.v2.debug_mnist_v2 \
    --dump_dir /tmp/tfdbg2_logdir --dump_tensor_debug_mode FULL_HEALTH

在 TensorBoard 中启动 Debugger V2 GUI

使用调试程序检测运行该程序会在 /tmp/tfdbg2_logdir 下创建一个 logdir。我们可以启动 TensorBoard 并利用以下代码将其指向该 logdir:

tensorboard --logdir /tmp/tfdbg2_logdir

在网络浏览器中,前往 TensorBoard 页面(网址为:http://localhost:6006)。默认情况下,“Debugger V2”插件应处于激活状态,并显示如下页面:

Debugger V2 full view screenshot

使用 Debugger V2 GUI 查找 NaN 的根本原因

TensorBoard 中的 Debugger V2 GUI 分为六个版块:

  • Alerts:位于左上角,包含调试程序从所检测的 TensorFlow 程序的调试数据中检测到的“警报”事件的列表。每个警报都表示需要注意的某种异常。在我们的示例中,此版块用显眼的粉红色突出显示了 499 个 NaN/∞ 事件。这证实了我们的怀疑,即模型无法学习是因为其内部张量值中存在 NaN 和/或无穷。我们稍后将对这些警报进行深入研究。
  • Python Execution Timeline:位于中上版块的上半部分。它表示算子和计算图的 Eager Execution 的完整历史记录。时间轴上的每个框都标有算子或计算图名称的首字母(例如,“T”代表“TensorSliceDataset”算子,“m”代表“模型”tf.function)。我们可以使用时间轴上的导航按钮和滚动条来浏览时间轴。
  • Graph Execution:位于 GUI 的右上角,是我们调试任务的中心。它包含所有在计算图内进行计算的浮点张量的历史记录(即,由 @tf-function 编译)。
  • Graph Structure(中上版块的下半部分)、Source Code(左下版块)和 Stack Trace(右下版块)最初为空。这些内容将在我们与 GUI 进行交互时填充。这三个版块也将在我们的调试任务中扮演重要角色。

在了解界面的组织结构之后,让我们采取以下步骤来深入了解 NaN 出现的原因。首先,在 Alerts 版块中点击 NaN/∞ 警报。这将在 Graph Execution 版块滚动显示 600 个计算图张量,并将焦点放在 #88 上,这是一个由 Log(自然对数)算子生成的名为“Log:0”的张量。在二维 float32 张量的 1000 个元素中,以显眼的粉红色突出显示一个 -∞ 元素。这是 TF2 程序的运行时历史记录中的第一个张量,其中包含任何 NaN 或无穷:在它之前计算的张量不包含 NaN 或 ∞;此后计算的许多(实际上是大多数)张量都包含 NaN。我们可以上下滚动 Graph Execution 列表来进行确认。此观察结果强烈表明 Log 算子是导致 TF2 程序中数值不稳定的根源。

Debugger V2: Nan / Infinity alerts and graph execution list

为什么此 Log 算子会产生 -∞?要回答此问题,需要检查算子的输入。点击张量名称 (“Log:0”) ,在 Graph Structure 版块的 TensorFlow 计算图中,会显示 Log 算子附近区域的简单但信息丰富的可视化效果。请注意信息流的方向为从上到下。算子本身在中间以粗体显示。在紧挨着算子的上方,我们可以看到一个占位算子,它为 Log 算子提供唯一输入。此 logits 占位符在生成的张量在 Graph Execution 列表中位于什么位置?通过使用黄色背景作为视觉辅助,我们可以看到 logits:0 张量在 Log:0 张量的上方并且隔了两行,即第 85 行。

Debugger V2: Graph structure view and tracing to input tensor

更仔细地查看一下第 85 行的“logits:0”张量的数值分解,我们就能发现使用者 Log:0 产生 -∞ 的原因:在“logits:0”的 1000 个元素中,有一个元素的值是 0。-∞ 是计算 0 的自然对数的结果!如果我们能以某种方式确保 Log 算子只获得正输入,就能够防止 NaN/∞ 的发生。为此,我们可以在 logits 占位张量上应用裁剪(例如,通过使用 tf.clip_by_value())。

我们离解决错误越来越近了,但还没有完成。要应用修复,我们需要知道 Log 算子及其占位输入在 Python 源代码中的位置。Debugger V2 提供了一流的支持,可跟踪计算图算子和执行事件到它们的源代码。当我们在 Graph Executions 中点击 Log:0 张量后,Stack Trace 版块会使用 Log 算子创建的原始堆栈跟踪进行填充。堆栈跟踪有点大,因为它包含来自 TensorFlow 内部代码(例如,gen_math_ops.py 和 dumping_callback.py)的许多帧,对于大多数调试任务,我们可以放心地忽略这些帧。我们需要关注的帧是 debug_mnist_v2.py(即,我们实际上正在尝试调试的 Python 文件)中的第 216 行。点击“Line 204”会在 Source Code 版块显示相应代码行的视图。

Debugger V2: Source code and stack trace

我们终于找到了源代码,该代码从 logits 输入创建了有问题的 Log 算子。这是我们的自定义分类交叉熵的损失函数,该函数用 @tf.function 进行了装饰并随后转换为 TensorFlow 计算图。“logits”占位算子对应于损失函数的第一个输入参数。Log 算子使用 tf.math.log() API 调用进行创建。

要对此错误进行值裁剪修复,可使用如下代码:

  diff = -(labels *
           tf.clip_by_value(tf.math.log(logits), 1e-6, 1.))

它将解决此 TF2 程序中的数值不稳定问题,并成功训练 MLP。解决数值不稳定性的另一种可能方式是使用 tf.keras.losses.CategoricalCrossentropy

至此,我们观察了 TF2 模型错误,并提出了修复该错误的代码更改建议。这是在 Debugger V2 工具的帮助下完成的,该工具提供了对所检测的 TF2 程序的 Eager 和计算图执行历史记录的完全可见性,包括张量值的数值摘要,以及算子、张量及其原始源代码之间的关联。

Debugger V2 的硬件兼容性

Debugger V2 支持主流的训练硬件,包括 CPU 和 GPU。还支持使用 tf.distributed.MirroredStrategy 的多 GPU 训练。对 TPU 的支持仍处于早期阶段,需要先调用以下代码:

tf.config.set_soft_device_placement(True)

然后再调用 enable_dump_debug_info()。它对 TPU 还可能有其他限制。如果您在使用 Debugger V2 时遇到问题,请在我们的 GitHub 议题页面上报告错误。

Debugger V2 的 API 兼容性

Debugger V2 在级别相对较低的 TensorFlow 软件堆栈上实现,因此兼容 tf.kerastf.data 以及在 TensorFlow 的较低级别上构建的其他 API。Debugger V2 还向后兼容 TF1,尽管对于 TF1 程序生成的调试 logdir,Eager Execution Timeline 将为空。

API 使用提示

关于此调试 API 的一个常见问题是,应该在 TensorFlow 代码的哪个位置插入对 enable_dump_debug_info() 的调用。通常,应该在 TF2 程序中尽早调用该 API,最好在 Python 导入行之后以及构建计算图和执行开始之前进行调用。这样可以确保全面涵盖所有为模型及其训练提供支持的算子和计算图。

目前支持的 tensor_debug_modes 包括:NO_TENSORCURT_HEALTHCONCISE_HEALTHFULL_HEALTHSHAPE。它们从每个张量提取的信息量以及所调试程序的性能开销各不相同。请参阅 enable_dump_debug_info() 文档的“参数”部分

性能开销

调试 API 会增加所检测的 TensorFlow 程序的性能开销。开销因 tensor_debug_mode、硬件类型和所检测的 TensorFlow 程序的性质而异。作为参考,在 GPU 上,对于批次大小为 64 的 Transformer 模型,NO_TENSOR 模式会在其训练期间增加 15% 的开销。其他 tensor_debug_modes 的开销百分比更高:对于 CURT_HEALTHCONCISE_HEALTHFULL_HEALTHSHAPE 模式大约为 50%。在 CPU 上,开销略低。在 TPU 上,开销目前较高。

与其他 TensorFlow 调试 API 的关系

请注意,TensorFlow 提供了用于调试的其他工具和 API。您可以在 API 文档页面的 tf.debugging.* 命名空间下浏览此类 API。在这些 API 中,最常用的是 tf.print()。什么时候应该使用 Debugger V2,什么时候应该使用 tf.print() 呢?对于以下情况,使用 tf.print() 会很方便:

  1. 我们确切知道要打印哪些张量,
  2. 我们知道在源代码中插入这些 tf.print() 语句的确切位置,
  3. 此类张量的数量不是太大。

对于其他情况(例如,检查许多张量值、检查由 TensorFlow 的内部代码生成的张量值,以及像我们在上文中展示的那样搜索数值不稳定的来源),使用 Debugger V2 进行调试速度更快。另外,Debugger V2 提供了一种检查 Eager 和计算图张量的统一方式。它还提供了有关计算图结构和代码位置的信息,而 tf.print() 不具备这些功能。

可以用来调试涉及 ∞ 和 NaN 问题的另一个 API 是 tf.debugging.enable_check_numerics()。与 enable_dump_debug_info() 不同,enable_check_numerics() 不会在磁盘上保存调试信息。相反,它仅会在 TensorFlow 运行时期间监视 ∞ 和 NaN,并在任何算子生成此类不良数值后立即报告错误并附带原始代码位置。与 enable_dump_debug_info() 相比,它的性能开销较低,但无法完整追踪程序执行的历史记录,并且没有类似 Debugger V2 的图形用户界面。

Debugging Numerical Issues in TensorFlow Programs Using TensorBoard Debugger V2

Catastrophic events involving NaNs can sometimes occur during a TensorFlow program, crippling the model training processes. The root cause of such events are often obscure, especially for models of non-trivial size and complexity. To make it easier to debug this type of model bugs, TensorBoard 2.3+ (together with TensorFlow 2.3+) provides a specialized dashboard called Debugger V2. Here we demonstrate how to use this tool by working through a real bug involving NaNs in a neural network written in TensorFlow.

The techniques illustrated in this tutorial are applicable to other types of debugging activities such as inspecting runtime tensor shapes in complex programs. This tutorial focuses on NaNs due to their relatively high frequency of occurrence.

Observing the bug

The source code of the TF2 program we’ll debug is available on GitHub. The example program is also packaged into the tensorflow pip package (version 2.3+) and can be invoked by:

python -m tensorflow.python.debug.examples.v2.debug_mnist_v2

This TF2 program creates a multi-layer perception (MLP) and trains it to recognize MNIST images. This example purposefully uses the low-level API of TF2 to define custom layer constructs, loss function, and training loop, because the likelihood of NaN bugs is higher when we use this more flexible but more error-prone API than when we use the easier-to-use but slightly less flexible high-level APIs such as tf.keras.

The program prints a test accuracy after each training step. We can see in the console that the test accuracy gets stuck at a near-chance level (~0.1) after the first step. This is certainly not how the model training is expected to behave: we expect the accuracy to gradually approach 1.0 (100%) as the step increases.

Accuracy at step 0: 0.216
Accuracy at step 1: 0.098
Accuracy at step 2: 0.098
Accuracy at step 3: 0.098
...

An educated guess is that this problem is caused by a numerical instability, such as NaN or infinity. However, how do we confirm this is really the case and how do we find the TensorFlow operation (op) responsible for generating the numerical instability? To answer these questions, let’s instrument the buggy program with Debugger V2.

Instrumenting TensorFlow code with Debugger V2

tf.debugging.experimental.enable_dump_debug_info() is the API entry point of Debugger V2. It instruments a TF2 program with a single line of code. For instance, adding the following line near the beginning of the program will cause debug information to be written to the log directory (logdir) at /tmp/tfdbg2_logdir. The debug information covers various aspects of TensorFlow runtime. In TF2, it includes the full history of eager execution, graph building performed by @tf.function, the execution of the graphs, the tensor values generated by the execution events, as well as the code location (Python stack traces) of those events. The richness of the debug information enables users to narrow in on obscure bugs.

tf.debugging.experimental.enable_dump_debug_info(
    logdir="/tmp/tfdbg2_logdir",
    tensor_debug_mode="FULL_HEALTH",
    circular_buffer_size=-1)

The tensor_debug_mode argument controls what information Debugger V2 extracts from each eager or in-graph tensor. “FULL_HEALTH” is a mode that captures the following information about each floating-type tensor (e.g., the commonly-seen float32 and the less common bfloat16 dtype):

  • DType
  • Rank
  • Total number of elements
  • A breakdown of the floating-type elements into the following categories: negative finite (-), zero (0), positive finite (+), negative infinity (-∞), positive infinity (+∞), and NaN.

The “FULL_HEALTH” mode is suitable for debugging bugs involving NaN and infinity. See below for other supported tensor_debug_modes.

The circular_buffer_size argument controls how many tensor events are saved to the logdir. It defaults to 1000, which causes only the last 1000 tensors before the end of the instrumented TF2 program to be saved to disk. This default behavior reduces debugger overhead by sacrificing debug-data completeness. If the completeness is preferred, as in this case, we can disable the circular buffer by setting the argument to a negative value (e.g., -1 here).

The debug_mnist_v2 example invokes enable_dump_debug_info() by passing command-line flags to it. To run our problematic TF2 program again with this debugging instrumentation enabled, do:

python -m tensorflow.python.debug.examples.v2.debug_mnist_v2 \
    --dump_dir /tmp/tfdbg2_logdir --dump_tensor_debug_mode FULL_HEALTH

Starting the Debugger V2 GUI in TensorBoard

Running the program with the debugger instrumentation creates a logdir at /tmp/tfdbg2_logdir. We can start TensorBoard and point it at the logdir with:

tensorboard --logdir /tmp/tfdbg2_logdir

In the web browser, navigate to TensorBoard’s page at http://localhost:6006. The “Debugger V2” plugin should be activated by default, displaying a page that looks like the following:

Debugger V2 full view screenshot

Using Debugger V2 GUI to find the root cause of NaNs

The Debugger V2 GUI in TensorBoard is organized into six sections:

  • Alerts: This top-left section contains a list of “alert” events detected by the debugger in the debug data from the instrumented TensorFlow program. Each alert indicates a certain anomaly that warrants attention. In our case, this section highlights 499 NaN/∞ events with a salient pink-red color. This confirms our suspicion that the model fails to learn because of the presence of NaNs and/or infinities in its internal tensor values. We’ll delve into these alerts shortly.
  • Python Execution Timeline: This is the upper half of the top-middle section. It presents the full history of the eager execution of ops and graphs. Each box of the timeline is marked by the initial letter of the op or graph’s name (e.g., “T” for the “TensorSliceDataset” op, “m” for the “model” tf.function). We can navigate this timeline by using the navigation buttons and the scrollbar above the timeline.
  • Graph Execution : Located at the top-right corner of the GUI, this section will be central to our debugging task. It contains a history of all the floating-dtype tensors computed inside graphs (i.e., compiled by @tf-functions).
  • Graph Structure (bottom half of the top-middle section), Source Code (bottom-left section), and Stack Trace (bottom-right section) are initially empty. Their contents will be populated when we interact with the GUI. These three sections will also play important roles in our debugging task.

Having oriented ourselves to the organization of the UI, let’s take the following steps to get to the bottom of why the NaNs appeared. First, click the NaN/∞ alert in the Alerts section. This automatically scrolls the list of 600 graph tensors in the Graph Execution section and focuses on the #88, which is a tensor named “Log:0” generated by a Log (natural logarithm) op. A salient pink-red color highlights a -∞ element among the 1000 elements of the 2D float32 tensor. This is the first tensor in the TF2 program’s runtime history that contained any NaN or infinity: tensors computed before it do not contain NaN or ∞; many (in fact, most) tensors computed afterwards contain NaNs. We can confirm this by scrolling up and down the Graph Execution list. This observation provides a strong hint that the Log op is the source of the numerical instability in this TF2 program.

Debugger V2: Nan / Infinity alerts and graph execution list

Why does this Log op spit out a -∞? Answering that question requires examining the input to the op. Clicking on the name of the tensor (“Log:0”) brings up a simple but informative visualization of the Log op’s vicinity in its TensorFlow graph in the Graph Structure section. Note the top-to-bottom direction of information flow. The op itself is shown in the bold in the middle. Immediately above it, we can see a Placeholder op provides the one and only input to the Log op. Where is the tensor generated by this logits Placeholder in the Graph Execution list? By using the yellow background color as a visual aid, we can see that the logits:0 tensor is two rows above the Log:0 tensor, that is, in row 85.

Debugger V2: Graph structure view and tracing to input tensor

A more careful look at the numerical breakdown of the “logits:0” tensor in row 85 reveals why its consumer Log:0 produces a -∞: Among the 1000 elements of “logits:0”, one element has a value of 0. The -∞ is a result of computing the natural logarithm of 0! If we can somehow ensure that the Log op gets exposed to only positive inputs, we’ll be able to prevent the NaN/∞ from happening. This can be achieved by applying clipping (e.g., by using tf.clip_by_value()) on the Placeholder logits tensor.

We are getting closer to solving the bug, but not quite done yet. In order to apply the fix, we need to know where in the Python source code the Log op and its Placeholder input originated. Debugger V2 provides first-class support for tracing the graph ops and execution events to their source. When we clicked the Log:0 tensor in Graph Executions, the Stack Trace section was populated with the original stack trace of the Log op’s creation. The stack trace is somewhat large because it includes many frames from TensorFlow’s internal code (e.g., gen_math_ops.py and dumping_callback.py), which we can safely ignore for most debugging tasks. The frame of interest is Line 216 of debug_mnist_v2.py (i.e, the Python file we’re actually trying to debug). Clicking “Line 204” brings up a view of the corresponding line of code in the Source Code section.

Debugger V2: Source code and stack trace

This finally brings us to the source code that created the problematic Log op from its logits input. This is our custom categorical cross-entropy loss function decorated with @tf.function and hence converted into a TensorFlow graph. The Placeholder op “logits” corresponds to the first input argument to the loss function. The Log op is created with the tf.math.log() API call.

The value-clipping fix to this bug will look something like:

  diff = -(labels *
           tf.clip_by_value(tf.math.log(logits), 1e-6, 1.))

It will resolve the numerical instability in this TF2 program and cause the MLP to train successfully. Another possible approach to fixing the numerical instability is to use tf.keras.losses.CategoricalCrossentropy.

This concludes our journey from observing a TF2 model bug to coming up with a code change that fixes the bug, aided by the Debugger V2 tool, which provides full visibility into the eager and graph execution history of the instrumented TF2 program, including the numerical summaries of tensor values and association between ops, tensors and their original source code.

Hardware compatibility of Debugger V2

Debugger V2 supports mainstream training hardware including CPU and GPU. Multi-GPU training with tf.distributed.MirroredStrategy is also supported. The support for TPU is still in an early stage and requires calling

tf.config.set_soft_device_placement(True)

before calling enable_dump_debug_info(). It may have other limitations on TPUs as well. If you run into problems using Debugger V2, please report bugs on our GitHub issues page.

API compatibility of Debugger V2

Debugger V2 is implemented at a relatively low level of TensorFlow’s software stack, and hence is compatible with tf.keras, tf.data, and other APIs built on top of TensorFlow’s lower levels. Debugger V2 is also backward compatible with TF1, although the Eager Execution Timeline will be empty for the debug logdirs generated by TF1 programs.

API usage tips

A frequently-asked question about this debugging API is where in the TensorFlow code one should insert the call to enable_dump_debug_info(). Typically, the API should be called as early as possible in your TF2 program, preferably after the Python import lines and before graph building and execution begin. This will ensure full coverage of all the ops and graphs that power your model and its training.

The currently supported tensor_debug_modes are: NO_TENSOR, CURT_HEALTH, CONCISE_HEALTH, FULL_HEALTH, and SHAPE. They vary in the amount of information extracted from each tensor and the performance overhead to the debugged program. Please refer to the args section of enable_dump_debug_info()’s documentation].

Performance overhead

The debugging API introduces performance overhead to the instrumented TensorFlow program. The overhead varies by tensor_debug_mode, hardware type, and nature of the instrumented TensorFlow program. As a reference point, on a GPU, the NO_TENSOR mode adds a 15% overhead during the training of a Transformer model under batch size 64. The percent overhead for other tensor_debug_modes are higher: approximately 50% for the CURT_HEALTH, CONCISE_HEALTH, FULL_HEALTH and SHAPE modes. On CPUs, the overhead is slightly lower. On TPUs, the overhead is currently higher.

Relation to other TensorFlow debugging APIs

Note that TensorFlow offers other tools and APIs for debugging. You can browse such APIs under the tf.debugging.* namespace at the API docs page. Among these APIs the most frequently used is tf.print(). When should one use Debugger V2 and when should tf.print() be used instead? tf.print() is convenient in case where

  1. we know exactly which tensors to print,
  2. we know where exactly in the source code to insert those tf.print() statements,
  3. the number of such tensors is not too large.

For other cases (e.g., examining many tensor values, examining tensor values generated by TensorFlow’s internal code, and searching for the origin of numerical instability as we showed above), Debugger V2 provides a faster way of debugging. In addition, Debugger V2 provides a unified approach to inspecting eager and graph tensors. It additionally provides information about graph structure and code locations, which are beyond the capability of tf.print().

Another API that can be used to debug issues involving ∞ and NaN is tf.debugging.enable_check_numerics(). Unlike enable_dump_debug_info(), enable_check_numerics() does not save debug information on the disk. Instead, it merely monitors ∞ and NaN during TensorFlow runtime and errors out with the origin code location as soon as any op generates such bad numerical values. It has a lower performance overhead compared to enable_dump_debug_info(), but doesn’t afford a full trace of the program’s execution history and does not come with a graphical user interface like Debugger V2.