Save the date! Google I/O returns May 18-20 Register now

性能的最佳实践

移动和嵌入式设备的计算资源有限,因此保持应用的资源效率非常重要。我们整理了一份最佳实践和策略的清单,您可以用它们来提高 TensorFlow Lite 模型的性能。

为任务选择最佳的模型

根据任务的不同,你会需要在模型复杂度和大小之间做取舍。如果你的任务需要高准确率,那么你可能需要一个大而复杂的模型。对于精确度不高的任务,就最好使用小一点的模型,因为小的模型不仅占用更少的磁盘和内存,也一般更快更高效。比如,下图展示了常见的图像分类模型中准确率和延迟对模型大小的影响。

模型大小和准确度的关系图

准确度和延迟时间的关系图

MobileNets 是针对移动设备优化的模型的一个示例,该模型针对移动视觉应用进行了优化。托管模型列出了其他几种专门针对移动设备和嵌入式设备进行了优化的模型。

你可以用你自己的数据通过迁移学习再训练这些模型。查看我们的迁移学习教程:图像分类物体检测

测试你的模型

在选择了一个适合你的任务的模型之后,测试该模型和设立基准很好的行为。TensorFlow Lite 测试工具 有内置的测试器,可展示每一个运算符的测试数据。这能帮助理解性能瓶颈和哪些运算符主导了运算时间。

您还可以使用 TensorFlow Lite 跟踪,在您的 Android 应用中使用标准的 Android 系统跟踪来对模型进行性能分析,还可以使用基于 GUI 的性能分析工具按时间直观呈现算子的调用。

测试和优化图(graph)中的运算符

如果某个特定的算子频繁出现在模型中,并且基于性能分析,您发现该算子消耗的时间最多,则可以考虑优化该算子。这种情况应该会很少见,因为 TensorFlow Lite 为大多数算子提供了优化版本。但是,如果您知道执行算子的约束条件,则可以编写自定义算子的更快版本。请查看我们的自定义算子文档

优化你的模型

如果你的模型使用浮点权重或者激励函数,那么模型大小或许可以通过量化减少75%,该方法有效地将浮点权重从32字节转化为8字节。量化分为:训练后量化量化训练。前者不需要再训练模型,但是在极少情况下会有精度损失。当精度损失超过了可接受范围,则应该使用量化训练。

有关详细信息,请查看我们的模型优化文档

调整线程数

TensorFlow Lite 支持用于许多算子的多线程内核。您可以增加线程数并加快算子的执行速度。但是,增加线程数会使模型使用更多资源和功率。

对有些应用来说,延迟或许比能源效率更重要。你可以通过设定 解释器 的数量来增加线程数。然而,根据同时运行的其他操作不同,多线程运行会增加性能的可变性。比如,隔离测试可能显示多线程的速度是单线程的两倍,但如果同时有另一个应用在运行的话,性能测试结果可能比单线程更差。

清除冗余副本

如果您的应用没有仔细设计,则在向模型输入和从模型读取输出时,可能会出现冗余副本。请确保消除冗余副本。如果您使用的是更高级别的 API(如Java),请务必仔细检查文档中的性能注意事项。例如,如果将 ByteBuffers 用作输入,Java API 的速度就会快很多。

用平台特定工具测试你的应用

平台特定工具,如 Android profilerInstruments,提供了丰富的可被用于调试应用的测试信息。有时性能问题可能不出自于模型,而是与模型交互的应用代码。确保熟悉平台特定测试工具和对该平台最好的测试方法。

评估你的模型是否受益于使用设备上可用的硬件加速器

TensorFlow Lite 添加了使用速度更快的硬件(如 GPU、DSP 和神经加速器等)来加速模型的新方式。通常,这些加速器会通过接管解释器部分执行的委托子模块公开。TensorFlow Lite 可以通过以下方式使用委托:

  • 使用 Android 的神经网络 API
    您可以利用这些硬件加速器后端来提高模型的速度和效率。
    要启用神经网络 API,请查看 NNAPI 委托指南。
  • 我们已经发布了一个仅限二进制的 GPU 代理,Android 和 iOS 分别使用 OpenGL 和 Metal。要试用它们,查看 GPU 代理教程文档
  • 在 Android 上可以使用 Hexagon 委托。如果在设备上可用,它会利用 Qualcomm Hexagon DSP。请参阅 Hexagon 委托教程了解更多信息。
  • 如果您可以访问非标准硬件,则可以创建自己的委托。请参阅 TensorFlow Lite 委托了解更多信息。

请注意,有的加速器在某些模型效果更好。为每个代理设立基准以测试出最优的选择是很重要的。比如,如果你有一个非常小的模型,那可能没必要将模型委托给 NN API 或 GPU。相反,对于具有高算术强度的大模型来说,加速器就是一个很好的选择。

需要更多帮助?

TensorFlow 团队非常乐意帮助你诊断和定位具体的性能问题。请在 GitHub 提出问题并描述细节。

Performance best practices

Mobile and embedded devices have limited computational resources, so it is important to keep your application resource efficient. We have compiled a list of best practices and strategies that you can use to optimize your model and application when using TensorFlow Lite.

Choose the best model for the task

Depending on the task, you will need to make a tradeoff between model complexity and size. If your task requires high accuracy, then you may need a large and complex model. For tasks that require less precision, it is better to use a smaller model because they not only use less disk space and memory, but they are also generally faster and more energy efficient. For example, graphs below show accuracy and latency tradeoffs for some common image classification models.

Graph of model size vs accuracy

Graph of accuracy vs latency

One example of models optimized for mobile devices are MobileNets, which are optimized for mobile vision applications. Hosted models lists several other models that have been optimized specifically for mobile and embedded devices.

You can retrain the listed models on your own dataset by using transfer learning. Check out our transfer learning tutorial for image classification and object detection.

Profile your model

Once you have selected a candidate model that is right for your task, it is a good practice to profile and benchmark your model. TensorFlow Lite benchmarking tool has a built-in profiler that shows per operator profiling statistics. This can help in understanding performance bottlenecks and which operators dominate the computation time.

Profile and optimize operators in the graph

If a particular operator appears frequently in the model and, based on profiling, you find that the operator consumes the most amount of time, you can look into optimizing that operator. This scenario should be rare as TensorFlow Lite has optimized versions for most operators. However, you may be able to write a faster version of a custom op if you know the constraints in which the operator is executed. Check out our custom operator documentation.

Optimize your model

Model compression aims to create smaller models that are generally faster and more energy efficient, so that they can be deployed on mobile devices.

Quantization

If your model uses floating-point weights or activations, then it may be possible to reduce the size of model up to ~4x by using quantization, which effectively turns the float weights to 8-bit. There are two flavors of quantization: post-training quantization and quantized training. The former does not require model re-training, but, in rare cases, may have accuracy loss. When accuracy loss is beyond acceptable thresholds, quantized training should be used instead.

We strongly recommend running benchmarks to make sure that the accuracy is not impacted during model compression. Check out our model optimization docs for details.

Tweak the number of threads

TensorFlow Lite supports multi-threaded kernels for many operators. You can increase the number of threads and speed up execution of operators. Increasing the number of threads will, however, make your model use more resources and power.

For some applications, latency may be more important than energy efficiency. You can increase the number of threads by setting the number of interpreter threads. Multi-threaded execution, however, comes at the cost of increased performance variability depending on what else is executed concurrently. This is particularly the case for mobile apps. For example, isolated tests may show 2x speed-up vs single-threaded, but, if another app is executing at the same time, it may result in worse performance than single-threaded.

Eliminate redundant copies

If your application is not carefully designed, there can be redundant copies when feeding the input to and reading the output from the model. Make sure to eliminate redundant copies. If you are using higher level APIs, like Java, make sure to carefully check the documentation for performance caveats. For example, the Java API is a lot faster if ByteBuffers are used as inputs.

Profile your application with platform specific tools

Platform specific tools like Android profiler and Instruments provide a wealth of profiling information that can be used to debug your app. Sometimes the performance bug may be not in the model but in parts of application code that interact with the model. Make sure to familiarize yourself with platform specific profiling tools and best practices for your platform.

Evaluate whether your model benefits from using hardware accelerators available on the device

TensorFlow Lite has added new ways to accelerate models with faster hardware like GPUs, DSPs, and neural accelerators. Typically, these accelerators are exposed through delegate submodules that take over parts of the interpreter execution. TensorFlow Lite can use delegates by:

  • Using Android's Neural Networks API. You can utilize these hardware accelerator backends to improve the speed and efficiency of your model. To enable the Neural Networks API, call UseNNAPI on the interpreter instance.
  • A binary-only GPU delegate has been released for Android and iOS, using OpenGL and Metal, respectively. To try them out, see the GPU delegate tutorial and documentation.
  • It is possible to create your own delegate if you have access to non-standard hardware. See TensorFlow Lite delegates for more information.

Be aware that some accelerators work better for different types of models. It is important to benchmark each delegate to see if it is a good choice for your application. For example, if you have a very small model, it may not be worth delegating the model to either the NN API or the GPU. Conversely, accelerators are a great choice for large models that have high arithmetic intensity.

Need more help

The TensorFlow team is happy to help diagnose and address specific performance issues you may be facing. Please file an issue on GitHub with details of the issue.