本頁面由 Cloud Translation API 翻譯而成。
Switch to English

Federated Learning

總覽

本文檔介紹了可促進聯合學習任務的接口,例如使用TensorFlow中實現的現有機器學習模型進行聯合培訓或評估。在設計這些接口時,我們的主要目標是可以在不需要了解其幕後工作原理的情況下進行聯邦學習實驗,並在各種現有模型和數據上評估已實施的聯邦學習算法。我們鼓勵您回饋平台。 TFF的設計考慮了可擴展性和可組合性,我們歡迎您提供幫助;我們很高興看到您的想法!

該層提供的接口包括以下三個關鍵部分:

  • 型號 。類和幫助程序函數使您可以包裝現有模型以與TFF一起使用。打包模型就像調用單個打包函數(例如tff.learning.from_keras_model )或定義tff.learning.Model接口的子類以實現完全可定制性一樣簡單。

  • 聯邦計算建造商 。使用現有模型構建用於訓練或評估的聯合計算的幫助程序功能。

  • 數據集 。您可以在Python中下載和訪問的罐裝數據集合,以用於模擬聯合學習方案。儘管聯邦學習旨在用於不能在集中位置簡單下載的分散數據,但在研究和開發階段,使用可以在本地下載和操作的數據進行初始實驗通常很方便,特別是對於可能新方法。

這些接口主要在tff.learning命名空間中定義,但研究數據集和其他與仿真相關的功能已分組在tff.simulation 。使用Federated Core(FC)提供的較低級接口來實現該層,該接口還提供了運行時環境。

在繼續之前,我們建議您首先閱讀有關圖像分類文本生成的教程,因為它們使用具體示例介紹了此處介紹的大多數概念。如果您想了解有關TFF如何工作的更多信息,則可能需要跳過自定義算法教程,作為對我們用來表示聯邦計算邏輯並研究TFF的現有實現的較低級接口的介紹。 tff.learning接口。

楷模

體系結構假設

序列化

TFF旨在支持各種分佈式學習方案,在這些方案中,您編寫的機器學習模型代碼可能在具有各種功能的大量異構客戶端上執行。在某種程度上,雖然在某些應用程序中那些客戶端可能是功能強大的數據庫服務器,但我們平台打算支持的許多重要用途涉及資源有限的移動和嵌入式設備。我們不能假定這些設備能夠託管Python運行時。我們唯一可以假設的是,它們能夠託管本地TensorFlow運行時。因此,我們在TFF中做出的基本架構假設是,您的模型代碼必須可序列化為TensorFlow圖。

您可以(並且應該)仍然遵循最新的最佳做法(例如使用“急切模式”)來開發TF代碼。但是,最終代碼必須是可序列化的(例如,可以將其包裝為eager-mode代碼的tf.function )。這樣可以確保執行時所需的任何Python狀態或控制流都可以序列化(可能在Autograph的幫助下)。

當前,TensorFlow不完全支持對急切模式TensorFlow進行序列化和反序列化。因此,TFF中的序列化當前遵循TF 1.0模式,其中所有代碼都必須在TFF控制的tf.Graph中構造。這意味著當前的TFF無法使用已經構建的模型。取而代之的是,模型定義邏輯打包在無參數的函數中,該函數返回tff.learning.Model 。然後TFF調用此函數以確保模型的所有組件都已序列化。此外,作為強類型環境,TFF將需要一點額外的元數據 ,例如模型輸入類型的規範。

聚合

我們強烈建議大多數用戶使用Keras構建模型,請參見下面的Keras轉換器 。這些包裝器自動處理模型更新的匯總以及為模型定義的任何度量。但是,了解一般tff.learning.Model聚合處理方式仍然有用。

聯合學習中始終至少有兩層聚合:本地設備上聚合和跨設備(或聯合)聚合:

  • 本地聚集 。聚合級別是指單個客戶擁有的多批示例之間的聚合。它同時適用於模型參數(變量)和模型計算的統計信息(例如平均損失,準確性和其他指標),模型參數(變量)隨著模型在本地訓練而不斷地演化,模型參數將再次在本地更新遍歷每個客戶端的本地數據流。

    在此級別執行聚合是您的模型代碼的責任,並且可以使用標準的TensorFlow構造來完成。

    處理的一般結構如下:

    • 該模型首先構造tf.Variable來保存聚合,例如批數或處理的示例數,每批或每示例損失的總和等。

    • TFF多次調用Model上的forward_pass方法,依次處理後續一批客戶端數據,這使您可以更新保留各種聚合的變量,這是一個副作用。

    • 最後,TFF在模型上調用report_local_outputs方法,以使您的模型可以將收集到的所有匯總統計信息編譯為一組緊湊的度量標準,以供客戶端導出。例如,在此處,您的模型代碼可以將損失之和除以處理後的示例數量,以導出平均損失,等等。

  • 聯合聚合 。此聚合級別是指系統中多個客戶端(設備)之間的聚合。同樣,它既適用於在客戶端之間平均的模型參數(變量),也適用於模型由於本地聚合而導出的度量。

    在此級別執行聚合是TFF的職責。但是,作為模型創建者,您可以控制此過程(有關更多信息,請參見下文)。

    處理的一般結構如下:

    • 服務器將初始模型和培訓所需的任何參數分發給一部分客戶,這些客戶將參加一輪培訓或評估。

    • 在每個客戶端上,獨立且並行地,對本地數據批處理流重複調用您的模型代碼,以生成一組新的模型參數(在訓練時)和一組新的局部指標,如上所述(這是本地的聚合)。

    • TFF運行分佈式聚合協議,以在整個系統上累積和聚合模型參數和本地導出的指標。在模型的federated_output_computation. ,使用TFF自己的聯合計算語言(不在TensorFlow中)以聲明性方式表示此邏輯federated_output_computation.有關聚合API的更多信息,請參見自定義算法教程。

抽象接口

基本的構造函數 + 元數據接口由接口tff.learning.Model表示,如下所示:

  • 構造函數, forward_passreport_local_outputs方法應相應地構造模型變量,正向傳遞和要報告的統計信息。如上所述,通過這些方法構造的TensorFlow必須可序列化。

  • input_spec屬性以及返回可訓練的,不可訓練的和局部變量的子集的3個屬性表示元數據。 TFF使用此信息來確定如何將模型的各個部分連接到聯合優化算法,並定義內部類型簽名以幫助驗證構造的系統的正確性(這樣就無法在不匹配模型的數據上實例化模型。該模型旨在使用)。

另外,抽象接口tff.learning.Model公開了一個federated_output_computation屬性,該屬性與前面提到的report_local_outputs屬性一起允許您控制匯總摘要統計信息的過程。

您可以在我們的圖像分類教程的第二部分中找到有關如何定義自己的自定義tf.learning.Model的示例,以及在model_examples.py用於測試的示例模型中。

Keras轉換器

TFF幾乎需要的所有信息都可以通過調用tf.keras接口來獲得,因此,如果您有tff.learning.from_keras_model模型,則可以依靠tff.learning.from_keras_model構造一個tff.learning.Model

請注意,TFF仍然希望您提供構造函數-無參模型函數 ,如下所示:

def model_fn():
  keras_model = ...
  return tff.learning.from_keras_model(keras_model, sample_batch, loss=...)

除了模型本身之外,您還提供了一批數據樣本,TFF使用這些數據來確定模型輸入的類型和形狀。這確保了TFF可以為客戶端設備上實際存在的數據正確地實例化模型(因為我們假設在構造要序列化的TensorFlow時通常無法使用該數據)。

在我們的圖像分類文本生成教程中說明了Keras包裝器的使用。

聯合計算構建器

tff.learning軟件包提供了與幾個建築商tff.Computation s表示執行學習相關的任務;我們希望此類計算的集合將來會擴展。

體系結構假設

執行

運行聯合計算有兩個不同的階段。

  • 編譯 :TFF首先聯合學習算法編譯為整個分佈式計算的抽象序列化表示。這是TensorFlow序列化發生的時間,但可以進行其他轉換以支持更有效的執行。我們將編譯器發出的序列化表示形式稱為聯合計算

  • 執行 TFF提供了執行這些計算的方法。目前,僅通過本地模擬(例如,在使用模擬分散數據的筆記本中)支持執行。

由TFF的聯合學習API生成的聯合計算(例如使用聯合模型平均或聯合評估的訓練算法)包括許多元素,最值得注意的是:

  • 模型代碼的序列化形式以及由Federated Learning框架構建的其他TensorFlow代碼,以驅動模型的訓練/評估循環(例如,構建優化器,應用模型更新,遍歷tf.data.Dataset和計算指標,並在服務器上應用匯總更新(僅舉幾例)。

  • 客戶端服務器之間的通信的聲明性規範(通常是跨客戶端設備的各種形式的聚合 ,以及從服務器到所有客戶端的廣播 ),以及如何將這種分佈式通信與客戶端本地或服務器本地執行交錯TensorFlow代碼

以這種序列化形式表示的聯邦計算以不同於Python的與平台無關的內部語言表示,但是使用Federated Learning API,您無需擔心這種表示的細節。這些計算在您的Python代碼中表示為tff.Computation類型的對象,在大多數情況下,您可以將它們視為不透明的Python callable s。

在教程中,您將調用那些聯合計算,就像它們是常規的Python函數一樣,在本地執行。但是,TFF設計為以與執行環境的大多數方面無關的方式表示聯合計算,因此它們可以潛在地部署到(例如)運行Android的設備組或數據中心的群集中。同樣,這的主要結果是關於序列化的強大假設。特別是,當您調用以下所述的build_...方法之一時,計算將完全序列化。

建模狀態

TFF是一個函數式編程環境,但是聯邦學習中許多感興趣的過程都是有狀態的。例如,涉及多輪聯合模型平均的訓練循環就是我們可以歸類為有狀態過程的一個示例。在此過程中,不斷變化的狀態包括正在訓練的一組模型參數,以及可能與優化器關聯的其他狀態(例如,動量矢量)。

由於TFF是功能性的,因此在TFF中將有狀態過程建模為接受當前狀態作為輸入,然後提供更新狀態作為輸出的計算。為了完全定義一個有狀態的過程,還需要指定初始狀態的來源(否則我們將無法引導該過程)。這是在幫助器類tff.templates.IterativeProcess的定義中捕獲的,其中兩個屬性initializenext對應於初始化和迭代。

可用的構建器

目前,TFF提供了兩個生成器函數,這些函數生成用於聯合訓練和評估的聯合計算:

數據集

體系結構假設

客戶選擇

在典型的聯合學習的情況下,我們有一個人口眾多潛在的數億客戶端設備,其中只有一小部分可以是主動的和可用的訓練在任何特定時刻(例如,這可能僅限於那些客戶插入電源(不在計量網絡上,否則處於空閒狀態)。通常,可用於培訓或評估的一組客戶不在開發人員的控制範圍內。此外,由於協調數百萬客戶是不切實際的,因此典型的一輪培訓或評估將只包括一小部分可用客戶,這些客戶可以隨機抽樣

這樣做的主要結果是,按照設計,聯合計算的表達方式不了解參與者的確切集合。所有處理都表示為對抽象的匿名客戶端組的聚合操作,並且該組可能從一輪培訓到另一輪培訓有所不同。因此,將計算實際綁定到具體參與者,進而綁定到他們輸入到計算中的具體數據,就在計算本身之外進行建模。

為了模擬聯邦學習代碼的實際部署,通常將編寫一個訓練循環,如下所示:

trainer = tff.learning.build_federated_averaging_process(...)
state = trainer.initialize()
federated_training_data = ...

def sample(federate_data):
  return ...

while True:
  data_for_this_round = sample(federated_training_data)
  state, metrics = trainer.next(state, data_for_this_round)

為了簡化此操作,在模擬中使用TFF時,將聯合數據作為Python list接受,每個參與的客戶端設備使用一個元素表示該設備的本地tf.data.Dataset

抽象接口

為了標準化處理模擬的聯合數據集,TFF提供了一個抽象接口tff.simulation.ClientData ,該接口允許枚舉客戶端集合,並構造一個包含特定客戶端數據的tf.data.Dataset 。可以將那些tf.data.Dataset直接作為輸入以快速模式輸入到生成的聯合計算中。

應該注意的是,訪問客戶端身份的功能是僅由數據集提供的功能,用於模擬,在這種情況下,可能需要訓練來自特定客戶端子集的數據的能力(例如,模擬不同客戶端的晝夜可用性)。客戶類型)。編譯後的計算和底層運行時涉及任何客戶端身份的概念。例如,在調用tff.templates.IterativeProcess.next ,一旦選擇了來自特定客戶端子集的數據作為輸入,客戶端身份便不再出現在其中。

可用數據集

我們為實現tff.simulation.ClientData接口的數據集專用了名稱空間tff.simulation.datasets ,以用於仿真,並為它添加了2個數據集以支持圖像分類文本生成教程。我們希望鼓勵您為平台貢獻自己的數據集。

TensorFlow 2.0 Beta is available Learn more

Federated Learning

Overview

This document introduces interfaces that facilitate federated learning tasks, such as federated training or evaluation with existing machine learning models implemented in TensorFlow. In designing these interfaces, our primary goal was to make it possible to experiment with federated learning without requiring the knowledge of how it works under the hood, and to evaluate the implemented federated learning algorithms on a variety of existing models and data. We encourage you to contribute back to the platform. TFF has been designed with extensibility and composability in mind, and we welcome contributions; we are excited to see what you come up with!

The interfaces offered by this layer consist of the following three key parts:

  • Models. Classes and helper functions that allow you to wrap your existing models for use with TFF. Wrapping a model can be as simple as calling a single wrapping function (e.g., tff.learning.from_keras_model), or defining a subclass of the tff.learning.Model interface for full customizability.

  • Federated Computation Builders. Helper functions that construct federated computations for training or evaluation, using your existing models.

  • Datasets. Canned collections of data that you can download and access in Python for use in simulating federated learning scenarios. Although federated learning is designed for use with decentralized data that cannot be simply downloaded at a centralized location, at the research and development stages it is often convenient to conduct initial experiments using data that can be downloaded and manipulated locally, especially for developers who might be new to the approach.

These interfaces are defined primarily in the tff.learning namespace, except for research data sets and other simulation-related capabilities that have been grouped in tff.simulation. This layer is implemented using lower-level interfaces offered by the Federated Core (FC), which also provides a runtime environment.

Before proceeding, we recommend that you first review the tutorials on image classification and text generation, as they introduce most of the concepts described here using concrete examples. If you're interested in learning more about how TFF works, you may want to skim over the custom algorithms tutorial as an introduction to the lower-level interfaces we use to express the logic of federated computations, and to study the existing implementation of the tff.learning interfaces.

Models

Architectural assumptions

Serialization

TFF aims at supporting a variety of distributed learning scenarios in which the machine learning model code you write might be executing on a large number of heterogeneous clients with diverse capabilities. While at one end of the spectrum, in some applications those clients might be powerful database servers, many important uses our platform intends to support involve mobile and embedded devices with limited resources. We cannot assume that these devices are capable of hosting Python runtimes; the only thing we can assume at this point is that they are capable of hosting a local TensorFlow runtime. Thus, a fundamental architectural assumption we make in TFF is that your model code must be serializable as a TensorFlow graph.

You can (and should) still develop your TF code following the latest best practices like using eager mode. However, the final code must be serializable (e.g., can be wrapped as a tf.function for eager-mode code). This ensures that any Python state or control flow necessary at execution time can be serialized (possibly with the help of Autograph).

Currently, TensorFlow does not fully support serializing and deserializing eager-mode TensorFlow. Thus, serialization in TFF currently follows the TF 1.0 pattern, where all code must be constructed inside a tf.Graph that TFF controls. This means currently TFF cannot consume an already-constructed model; instead, the model definition logic is packaged in a no-arg function that returns a tff.learning.Model. This function is then called by TFF to ensure all components of the model are serialized. In addition, being a strongly-typed environment, TFF will require a little bit of additional metadata, such as a specification of your model's input type.

Aggregation

We strongly recommend most users construct models using Keras, see the Converters for Keras section below. These wrappers handle the aggregation of model updates as well as any metrics defined for the model automatically. However, it may still be useful to understand how aggregation is handled for a general tff.learning.Model.

There are always at least two layers of aggregation in federated learning: local on-device aggregation, and cross-device (or federated) aggregation:

  • Local aggregation. This level of aggregation refers to aggregation across multiple batches of examples owned by an individual client. It applies to both the model parameters (variables), which continue to sequentially evolve as the model is locally trained, as well as the statistics you compute (such as average loss, accuracy, and other metrics), which your model will again update locally as it iterates over each individual client's local data stream.

    Performing aggregation at this level is the responsibility of your model code, and is accomplished using standard TensorFlow constructs.

    The general structure of processing is as follows:

    • The model first constructs tf.Variables to hold aggregates, such as the number of batches or the number of examples processed, the sum of per-batch or per-example losses, etc.

    • TFF invokes the forward_pass method on your Model multiple times, sequentially over subsequent batches of client data, which allows you to update the variables holding various aggregates as a side effect.

    • Finally, TFF invokes the report_local_outputs method on your Model to allow your model to compile all the summary statistics it collected into a compact set of metrics to be exported by the client. This is where your model code may, for example, divide the sum of losses by the number of examples processed to export the average loss, etc.

  • Federated aggregation. This level of aggregation refers to aggregation across multiple clients (devices) in the system. Again, it applies to both the model parameters (variables), which are being averaged across clients, as well as the metrics your model exported as a result of local aggregation.

    Performing aggregation at this level is the responsibility of TFF. As a model creator, however, you can control this process (more on this below).

    The general structure of processing is as follows:

    • The initial model, and any parameters required for training, are distributed by a server to a subset of clients that will participate in a round of training or evaluation.

    • On each client, independently and in parallel, your model code is invoked repeatedly on a stream of local data batches to produce a new set of model parameters (when training), and a new set of local metrics, as described above (this is local aggregation).

    • TFF runs a distributed aggregation protocol to accumulate and aggregate the model parameters and locally exported metrics across the system. This logic is expressed in a declarative manner using TFF's own federated computation language (not in TensorFlow), in the Model's federated_output_computation. See the custom algorithms tutorial for more on the aggregation API.

Abstract interfaces

This basic constructor + metadata interface is represented by the interface tff.learning.Model, as follows:

  • The constructor, forward_pass, and report_local_outputs methods should construct model variables, forward pass, and statistics you wish to report, correspondingly. The TensorFlow constructed by those methods must be serializable, as discussed above.

  • The input_spec property, as well as the 3 properties that return subsets of your trainable, non-trainable, and local variables represent the metadata. TFF uses this information to determine how to connect parts of your model to the federated optimization algorithms, and to define internal type signatures to assist in verifying the correctness of the constructed system (so that your model cannot be instantiated over data that does not match what the model is designed to consume).

In addition, the abstract interface tff.learning.Model exposes a property federated_output_computation that, together with the report_local_outputs property mentioned earlier, allows you to control the process of aggregating summary statistics.

Finally, the derived abstract interface tff.learning.TrainableModel allows you to customize the manner in which TFF executes individual training steps, such as by specifying your own optimizer, or defining separate metrics to be computed before and after training. You can customize this by overriding the newly introduced abstract method train_on_batch. You don't have to do it, though, if you only plan to use your model for evaluation, or if you're content with TFF choosing the standard optimizer for you.

You can find examples of how to define your own custom tf.learning.Model in the second part of our image classification tutorial, as well as in the example models we use for testing in model_examples.py.

Converters for Keras

Nearly all the information that's required by TFF can be derived by calling tf.keras interfaces, so if you have a Keras model, you can rely on either of the two methods below to construct a tff.learning.TrainableModel instance for you:

  • tff.learning.from_keras_model

  • tff.learning.from_compiled_keras_model

Note that TFF still wants you to provide a constructor - a no-argument model function such as the following:

def model_fn():
  keras_model = ...
  keras_model.compile(...)
  return tff.learning.from_compiled_keras_model(keras_model, sample_batch)

In addition to the model itself, you supply a sample batch of data which TFF uses to determine the type and shape of your model's input. This ensures that TFF can properly instantiate the model for the data that will actually be present on client devices (since we assume this data is not generally available at the time you are constructing the TensorFlow to be serialized).

The use of Keras wrappers is illustrated in our image classification and text generation tutorials.

Federated Computation Builders

The tff.learning package provides several builders for tff.Computations that perform learning-related tasks; we expect the set of such computations to expand in the future.

Architectural assumptions

Execution

There are two distinct phases in running a federated computation.

  • Compile: TFF first compiles federated learning algorithms into an abstract serialized representation of the entire distributed computation. This is when TensorFlow serialization happens, but other transformations can occur to support more efficient execution. We refer to the serialized representation emitted by the compiler as a federated computation.

  • Execute TFF provides ways to execute these computations. For now, execution is only supported via a local simulation (e.g., in a Jupyter notebook using simulated decentralized data).

A federated computation generated by TFF's Federated Learning API, such as a training algorithm that uses federated model averaging, or a federated evaluation, includes a number of elements, most notably:

  • A serialized form of your model code as well as additional TensorFlow code constructed by the Federated Learning framework to drive your model's training/evaluation loop (such as constructing optimizers, applying model updates, iterating over tf.data.Datasets, and computing metrics, and applying the aggregated update on the server, to name a few).

  • A declarative specification of the communication between the clients and a server (typically various forms of aggregation across the client devices, and broadcasting from the server to all clients), and how this distributed communication is interleaved with the client-local or server-local execution of TensorFlow code.

The federated computations represented in this serialized form are expressed in a platform-independent internal language distinct from Python, but to use the Federated Learning API, you won't need to concern yourself with the details of this representation. The computations are represented in your Python code as objects of type tff.Computation, which for the most part you can treat as opaque Python callables.

In the tutorials, you will invoke those federated computations as if they were regular Python functions, to be executed locally. However, TFF is designed to express federated computations in a manner agnostic to most aspects of the execution environment, so that they can potentially be deployable to, e.g., groups of devices running Android, or to clusters in a datacenter. Again, the main consequence of this are strong assumptions about serialization. In particular, when you invoke one of the build_... methods described below the computation is fully serialized.

Modeling state

TFF is a functional programming environment, yet many processes of interest in federated learning are stateful. For example, a training loop that involves multiple rounds of federated model averaging is an example of what we could classify as a stateful process. In this process, the state that evolves from round to round includes the set of model parameters that are being trained, and possibly additional state associated with the optimizer (e.g., a momentum vector).

Since TFF is functional, stateful processes are modeled in TFF as computations that accept the current state as an input and then provide the updated state as an output. In order to fully define a stateful process, one also needs to specify where the initial state comes from (otherwise we cannot bootstrap the process). This is captured in the definition of the helper class tff.utils.IterativeProcess, with the 2 properties initialize and next corresponding to the initialization and iteration, respectively.

Available builders

At the moment, TFF provides two builder functions that generate the federated computations for federated training and evaluation:

  • tff.learning.build_federated_averaging_process takes a model function, and returns a stateful tff.utils.IterativeProcess.

  • tff.learning.build_federated_evaluation takes a model function and returns a single federated computation for federated evaluation of models, since evaluation is not stateful.

Datasets

Architectural assumptions

Client selection

In the typical federated learning scenario, we have a large population of potentially hundreds of millions of client devices, of which only a small portion may be active and available for training at any given moment (for example, this may be limited to clients that are plugged in to a power source, not on a metered network, and otherwise idle). Generally, the set of clients available to participate in training or evaluation is outside of the developer's control. Furthermore, as it's impractical to coordinate millions of clients, a typical round of training or evaluation will include only a fraction of the available clients, which may be sampled at random.

The key consequence of this is that federated computations, by design, are expressed in a manner that is oblivious to the exact set of participants; all processing is expressed as aggregate operations on an abstract group of anonymous clients, and that group might vary from one round of training to another. The actual binding of the computation to the concrete participants, and thus to the concrete data they feed into the computation, is thus modeled outside of the computation itself.

In order to simulate a realistic deployment of your federated learning code, you will generally write a training loop that looks like this:

trainer = tff.learning.build_federated_averaging_process(...)
state = trainer.initialize()
federated_training_data = ...

def sample(federate_data):
  return ...

while True:
  data_for_this_round = sample(federated_training_data)
  state, metrics = trainer.next(state, data_for_this_round)

In order to facilitate this, when using TFF in simulations, federated data is accepted as Python lists, with one element per participating client device to represent that device's local tf.data.Dataset.

Abstract interfaces

In order to standardize dealing with simulated federated data sets, TFF provides an abstract interface tff.simulation.ClientData, which allows one to enumerate the set of clients, and to construct a tf.data.Dataset that contains the data of a particular client. Those tf.data.Datasets can be fed directly as input to the generated federated computations in eager mode.

It should be noted that the ability to access client identities is a feature that's only provided by the datasets for use in simulations, where the ability to train on data from specific subsets of clients may be needed (e.g., to simulate the diurnal avaiablity of different types of clients). The compiled computations and the underlying runtime do not involve any notion of client identity. Once data from a specific subset of clients has been selected as an input, e.g., in a call to tff.utils.IterativeProcess.next, client identities no longer appear in it.

Available data sets

We have dedicated the namespace tff.simulation.datasets for datasets that implement the tff.simulation.ClientData interface for use in simulations, and seeded it with 2 data sets to support the image classification and text generation tutorials. We'd like to encourage you to contribute your own data sets to the platform.