透過集合功能整理內容 你可以依據偏好儲存及分類內容。

什麼是模型補強?

利用資料片段評估機器學習模型的表現後,您可能會發現模型對於特定資料片段的表現不佳。這種表現不一的情形有時可能會產生對特定弱勢群體不公平且有害的結果。一般來說,可用來解決偏誤問題的技術介入方式主要有三種:

  • 變更輸入資料:收集更多資料、產生合成資料、調整不同片段的權重和取樣率等。1
  • 調整模型:透過導入或修改模型目標、新增限制等做法變更模型本身。2
  • 對結果進行後續處理:修改模型的輸出結果,或是修改對輸出結果的詮釋,藉此提升模型在各項指標方面的表現。3

from tensorflow_model_remediation import min_diff
import tensorflow as tf

# Start by defining a Keras model.
original_model = ...

# Set the MinDiff weight and choose a loss.
min_diff_loss = min_diff.losses.MMDLoss()
min_diff_weight = 1.0  # Hyperparamater to be tuned.

# Create a MinDiff model.
min_diff_model = min_diff.keras.MinDiffModel(
original_model, min_diff_loss, min_diff_weight)

# Compile the MinDiff model normally.
min_diff_model.compile(...)

# Create a MinDiff Dataset and train the min_diff_model.
min_diff_model.fit(min_diff_dataset, ...)

什麼是 MinDiff?

MinDiff 是一種模型補強技巧,用於平衡兩種分布情形。在實務上,MinDiff 可針對分布情形的差異進行懲罰,讓不同資料片段的錯誤率達成平衡。

一般來說,如果有屬於敏感類別的資料片段和表現較佳的資料片段,想盡可能降低這兩者之間的偽陽率 (FPR) 或偽陰率 (FNR),就很適合使用 MinDiff。如要深入瞭解公平性指標,請參閱與這個主題相關的文獻。4 5 6

MinDiff 如何運作?

以我們資料集內的兩組示例為例,在訓練模型的過程中,MinDiff 會根據兩組示例之間的分數分布情形差異懲罰模型。兩組示例之間的預測分數差異越小,懲罰就越輕。

給予懲罰時,MinDiff 會在訓練的模型中加入損失成分。這可以想成是在評估模型預測結果分布情形的差異。在訓練過程中,模型會設法讓分布情形較為相似,盡可能降低懲罰程度 (如上圖所示)。

運用 MinDiff 後可能會對原始工作的表現造成影響。在實務上,我們往往發現 MinDiff 非常有效,而且不會讓表現降到無法滿足產品需求,但實際結果仍視應用情況而定,且是否要運用 MinDiff 應由產品擁有者審慎決定。如需相關示例,瞭解如何實作 MinDiff,請參閱我們的筆記本教學課程

1Zhang, G.、Bai, B.、Zhang, J.、Bai, K.、Zhu, C.、Zhao, T. (2020 年),〈Demographics Should Not Be the Reason of Toxicity: Mitigating Discrimination in Text Classifications with Instance Weighting〉(人口特徵不應成為惡意行為的理由:透過例項權重減輕文字分類歧視的問題)。
2Prost, F.、Qian H.、Chen, Q.、Chi, E.、Chen, J.、Beutel, A. (2019 年),〈Toward a better trade-off between performance and fairness with kernel-based distribution matching〉(藉由比對核心式分布情形,在表現與公平性之間取得更好的平衡)。
3Alabdulmohsin, I. (2020 年),〈Fair Classification via Unconstrained Optimization〉(透過無拘束最佳化公平地進行分類)。
4Dwork, C.、Hardt, M.、Pitassi, T.、Reingold, O.、Zemel, R. (2011 年),〈Fairness Through Awareness〉(透過意識實現公平性)。
5Hardt, M.、Price, E.、Srebro, N. (2016 年),〈Equality of Opportunity in Supervised Learning〉(監督式學習中的機會平等)。
6Chouldechova, A. (2016 年),〈Fair prediction with disparate impact: A study of bias in recidivism prediction instruments〉(造成不同影響的公平預測結果:累犯預測工具偏誤研究)。

資源

What is Model Remediation?

Once you’ve performed sliced evaluation of a machine learning model’s performance, you might notice that your model is underperforming across certain slices of data. This type of unequal performance can sometimes lead to unfair and potentially harmful outcomes for vulnerable subsets of the population. Generally, there are three primary types of technical interventions for addressing bias concerns:

  • Changing the input data: Collecting more data, generating synthetic data, adjusting the weights and sampling rates of different slices, etc.1
  • Intervening on the model: Changing the model itself by introducing or altering model objectives, adding constraints, etc.2
  • Post-processing the results: Modifying the outputs of the model or the interpretation of the outputs to improve performance across metrics.3

from tensorflow_model_remediation import min_diff
import tensorflow as tf

# Start by defining a Keras model.
original_model = ...

# Set the MinDiff weight and choose a loss.
min_diff_loss = min_diff.losses.MMDLoss()
min_diff_weight = 1.0  # Hyperparamater to be tuned.

# Create a MinDiff model.
min_diff_model = min_diff.keras.MinDiffModel(
original_model, min_diff_loss, min_diff_weight)

# Compile the MinDiff model normally.
min_diff_model.compile(...)

# Create a MinDiff Dataset and train the min_diff_model.
min_diff_model.fit(min_diff_dataset, ...)

What is MinDiff?

MinDiff is a model remediation technique that seeks to equalize two distributions. In practice, it can be used to balance error rates across different slices of your data by penalizing distributional differences.

Typically, one applies MinDiff when trying to minimize the difference in either false positive rate (FPR) or false negative rate (FNR) between a slice of data belonging to a sensitive class and a better performing slice. For in-depth discussion of fairness metrics, review the literature on this subject.4 5 6

How does MinDiff work?

Given two sets of examples from our dataset, MinDiff penalizes the model during training for differences in the distribution of scores between the two sets. The less distinguishable the two sets are based on prediction scores, the smaller the penalty that will be applied.

The penalty is applied by adding a component to the loss with which the model is training. It can be thought of as a measurement of the difference in distribution of model predictions. As the model trains, it will try to minimize the penalty by bringing the distributions closer together, as in the above graph.

Applying MinDiff may come with tradeoffs with respect to performance on the original task. In practice, we have often found MinDiff to be effective while not deteriorating performance beyond product needs, but this will be application dependent and the decision should be made deliberately by the product owner. For examples showing how to implement MinDiff, see our notebook tutorial.

1Zhang, G., Bai, B., Zhang, J., Bai, K., Zhu, C., Zhao, T. (2020). Demographics Should Not Be the Reason of Toxicity: Mitigating Discrimination in Text Classifications with Instance Weighting.
2Prost, F., Qian H., Chen, Q., Chi, E., Chen, J., Beutel, A. (2019). Toward a better trade-off between performance and fairness with kernel-based distribution matching.
3Alabdulmohsin, I. (2020). Fair Classification via Unconstrained Optimization.
4Dwork, C., Hardt, M., Pitassi, T., Reingold, O., Zemel, R. (2011). Fairness Through Awareness.
5Hardt, M., Price, E., Srebro, N. (2016). Equality of Opportunity in Supervised Learning.
6Chouldechova, A. (2016). Fair prediction with disparate impact: A study of bias in recidivism prediction instruments.

Resources