TensorFlow 2.0 Beta is available Learn more

数据输入流水线性能

GPU 和 TPU 可以显著缩短执行单个训练步所需的时间。实现最高性能需要高效的输入流水线,以在当前时间步完成之前为下一步提供数据。tf.data API 可以帮助我们构建灵活高效的输入流水线。本文档介绍了 tf.data API 的功能,以及在各种模型和加速器上构建高性能 TensorFlow 输入流水线的最佳做法。

本指南旨在:

  • 说明 TensorFlow 输入流水线本质上是一个 ETL 流程。
  • 介绍围绕 tf.data API 的常见性能优化。
  • 讨论转换的应用顺序对性能的影响。
  • 总结设计高性能 TensorFlow 输入流水线的最佳做法。

输入流水线结构

我们可以将典型的 TensorFlow 训练输入流水线视为 ETL 流程:

  1. 提取:从永久性存储(可以是 HDD 或 SSD 等本地存储或 GCSHDFS 等远程存储)读取数据。
  2. 转换:使用 CPU 核心解析数据并对其执行预处理操作,例如图像解压缩、数据增强转换(例如随机裁剪、翻转和颜色失真)、重排和批处理。
  3. 加载:将转换后的数据加载到执行机器学习模型的加速器设备(例如,GPU 或 TPU)上。

这种模式可高效利用 CPU,同时预留加速器来完成对模型进行训练的繁重工作。此外,将输入流水线视为 ETL 流程可提供便于应用性能优化的结构。

使用 tf.estimator.Estimator API 时,前两个阶段(提取和转换)是在 input_fn(传递给 tf.estimator.Estimator.train)中捕获的。代码可能如以下(简单序列)实现所示:

def parse_fn(example):
  "Parse TFExample records and perform simple data augmentation."
  example_fmt = {
    "image": tf.FixedLengthFeature((), tf.string, ""),
    "label": tf.FixedLengthFeature((), tf.int64, -1)
  }
  parsed = tf.parse_single_example(example, example_fmt)
  image = tf.image.decode_image(parsed["image"])
  image = _augment_helper(image)  # augments image using slice, reshape, resize_bilinear
  return image, parsed["label"]

def input_fn():
  files = tf.data.Dataset.list_files("/path/to/dataset/train-*.tfrecord")
  dataset = files.interleave(tf.data.TFRecordDataset)
  dataset = dataset.shuffle(buffer_size=FLAGS.shuffle_buffer_size)
  dataset = dataset.map(map_func=parse_fn)
  dataset = dataset.batch(batch_size=FLAGS.batch_size)
  return dataset

下一部分以此输入流水线为基础,并添加了性能优化。

优化性能

由于新型计算设备(例如 GPU 和 TPU)可以不断提高神经网络的训练速度,因此,CPU 处理很容易成为瓶颈。tf.data API 为用户提供构建块来设计可高效利用 CPU 的输入流水线,并优化 ETL 流程的每个步骤。

流水线

要执行训练步骤,您必须首先提取并转换训练数据,然后将其提供给在加速器上运行的模型。但是,在一个简单的同步实现中,当 CPU 正在准备数据时,加速器处于空闲状态。相反,当加速器正在训练模型时,CPU 处于空闲状态。因此,训练步的用时是 CPU 预处理时间和加速器训练时间的总和。

流水线将训练步骤的预处理和模型执行过程重叠到一起。当加速器正在执行第 N 个训练步时,CPU 正在准备第 N+1 步的数据。这样做不仅可以最大限度地缩短训练的单步用时(而不是总用时),而且可以缩短提取和转换数据所需的时间。

如果不使用流水线,CPU 和 GPU/TPU 在大部分时间都处于空闲状态:

不使用流水线

使用流水线可显著减少空闲时间:

使用流水线

tf.data API 通过 tf.data.Dataset.prefetch 转换提供了一种软件流水线机制,该机制可用于将生成数据的时间和使用数据的时间分离开。具体而言,该转换使用后台线程和内部缓冲区,以便在请求元素之前从输入数据集中预取这些元素。因此,为了实现上图所示的流水线效果,您可以将 prefetch(1) 作为最终转换添加到数据集流水线中(如果单步训练使用 n 个元素,则添加 prefetch(n))。

要将此项更改应用于我们正在运行的示例,请将:

dataset = dataset.batch(batch_size=FLAGS.batch_size)
return dataset

更改为:

dataset = dataset.batch(batch_size=FLAGS.batch_size)
dataset = dataset.prefetch(buffer_size=FLAGS.prefetch_buffer_size)
return dataset

请注意,只要可以将“提供方”的工作与“使用方”的工作重叠,预取转换就会发挥作用。上述建议只是最常见的应用。

并行处理数据转换

准备批次数据时,可能需要预处理输入元素。为此,tf.data API 提供了 tf.data.Dataset.map 转换,以将用户定义的函数(例如,正在运行的示例的 parse_fn)应用于输入数据集的每个元素。由于输入元素彼此独立,因此可以跨多个 CPU 核心并行执行预处理。为实现这一点,map 转换提供了 num_parallel_calls 参数来指定并行处理级别。例如,下图说明了将 num_parallel_calls=2 设置为 map 转换的效果:

并行映射

如何为 num_parallel_calls 参数选择最佳值取决于硬件、训练数据的特征(例如其大小和形状)、映射函数的成本以及同时在 CPU 上进行的其他处理;一个简单的启发法是设为可用 CPU 核心的数量。例如,如果执行以上示例的机器有 4 个核心,则设置 num_parallel_calls=4 会更高效。另一方面,将 num_parallel_calls 设置为远大于可用 CPU 数量的值可能会导致调度效率低下,进而减慢速度。

要将此项更改应用于我们正在运行的示例,请将:

dataset = dataset.map(map_func=parse_fn)

更改为:

dataset = dataset.map(map_func=parse_fn, num_parallel_calls=FLAGS.num_parallel_calls)

此外,如果批次大小为数百或数千,那么并行处理批次创建过程还可能给流水线带来更大的优势。为此,tf.data API 提供了 tf.contrib.data.map_and_batch 转换,它可以有效地将映射和批次转换“混合”在一起。

要将此项更改应用于我们正在运行的示例,请将:

dataset = dataset.map(map_func=parse_fn, num_parallel_calls=FLAGS.num_parallel_calls)
dataset = dataset.batch(batch_size=FLAGS.batch_size)

更改为:

dataset = dataset.apply(tf.contrib.data.map_and_batch(
    map_func=parse_fn, batch_size=FLAGS.batch_size))

并行处理数据提取

在实际设置中,输入数据可能会远程存储(例如,GCS 或 HDFS),这是因为输入数据不适合本地存储,或因为训练是分布式训练,因此在每台机器上复制输入数据没有意义。非常适合在本地读取数据的数据集流水线在远程读取数据时可能会遇到 I/O 瓶颈,这是因为本地存储和远程存储之间存在以下差异:

  • 首字节时间:与本地存储相比,从远程存储读取文件的首字节所用时间可能要多出几个数量级。
  • 读取吞吐量:虽然远程存储通常可提供较大的聚合带宽,但读取单个文件可能只能利用此带宽的一小部分。

此外,将原始字节读入内存中后,可能还需要对数据进行反序列化或解密(例如,protobuf),这会带来额外的开销。无论数据是在本地还是远程存储,都存在这种开销,但如果未有效预取数据,则在远程存储的情况下可能更糟。

为了降低各种数据提取开销的影响,tf.data API 提供了 tf.contrib.data.parallel_interleave 转换。使用此转换可以并行执行其他数据集(例如数据文件读取器)并交错这些数据集的内容。可以通过 cycle_length 参数指定要重叠的数据集的数量。

下图说明了为 parallel_interleave 转换提供 cycle_length=2 的效果:

并行 io

要将此项更改应用于我们正在运行的示例,请将:

dataset = files.interleave(tf.data.TFRecordDataset)

更改为:

dataset = files.apply(tf.contrib.data.parallel_interleave(
    tf.data.TFRecordDataset, cycle_length=FLAGS.num_parallel_readers))

由于负载或网络事件,远程存储系统的吞吐量可能会随时间而变化。鉴于这种差异,parallel_interleave 转换可以选择使用预取(如需了解详情,请参阅 tf.contrib.data.parallel_interleave)。

默认情况下,parallel_interleave 转换可提供元素的确定性排序以帮助实现可再现性。作为预取的替代方案(在某些情况下可能效率低下),parallel_interleave 转换还提供了一个可提升性能但无法保证排序的选项。特别是,如果 sloppy 参数设为 true,则该转换可在系统请求下一个元素时暂时跳过其元素不可用的文件,从而放弃该转换的确定性排序。

性能考虑因素

tf.data API 围绕可组合转换而设计,旨在为用户提供灵活性。虽然这些转换中有很多都是可以交替的,但某些转换的顺序会对性能产生影响。

映射和批次

调用传递给 map 转换的用户定义函数具有与调度和执行用户定义函数相关的开销。通常,与函数执行的计算量相比,这种开销很小。但是,如果 map 几乎不起作用,那么这种开销可能会占总成本的很大一部分。在这种情况下,我们建议向量化用户定义的函数(即,让该函数一次对一批输入进行操作),并在 map 转换之前先应用 batch 转换。

映射和缓存

tf.data.Dataset.cache 转换可以在内存或本地存储中缓存数据集。如果传递给 map 转换的用户定义函数代价很高,则只要内存或本地存储仍可以容纳生成的数据集,就可以在映射转换后应用缓存转换。如果用户定义的函数会增加存储数据集所需的空间,并超出缓存容量,请考虑在训练作业之前预处理数据以减少资源消耗量。

映射和交错/预取/重排

许多转换(包括 interleaveprefetchshuffle)都维持一个内部元素缓冲区。如果传递给 map 转换的用户定义函数改变了元素的大小,那么映射转换的顺序和缓冲元素的转换会影响内存使用量。通常,我们建议选择可以减少内存占用的顺序,除非为了提高性能而需要采用不同的顺序(例如,为了混合映射和批次转换)。

重复和重排

tf.data.Dataset.repeat 转换会将输入数据重复有限(或无限)次;每次数据重复通常称为一个周期。tf.data.Dataset.shuffle 转换会随机化数据集样本的顺序。

如果在 shuffle 转换之前应用 repeat 转换,则系统会对周期边界进行模糊处理。也就是说,某些元素可以在其他元素出现之前重复出现。另一方面,如果在重复转换之前应用 shuffle 转换,那么在每个周期开始时性能可能会降低,因为需要初始化 shuffle 转换的内部状态。换言之,前者(repeatshuffle 之前)可提供更好的性能,而后者(repeatshuffle 之前)可提供更强的排序保证。

如果可能,建议您使用 tf.contrib.data.shuffle_and_repeat 混合转换,这样可以达到两全其美的效果(良好的性能和强大的排序保证)。否则,我们建议在重复之前进行重排。

最佳做法摘要

下面简要介绍了设计输入流水线的最佳做法:

  • 使用 prefetch 转换可将提供方和使用方的工作重叠。我们特别建议将 prefetch(n)(其中 n 是单步训练使用的元素数/批次数)添加到输入流水线的末尾,以便将在 CPU 上执行的转换与在加速器上执行的训练重叠。
  • 通过设置 num_parallel_calls 参数并行处理 map 转换。建议您将其值设为可用 CPU 核心的数量。
  • 如果您使用 batch 转换将预处理元素组合到一个批次中,建议您使用 map_and_batch 混合转换;特别是在您使用的批次较大时。
  • 如果您要处理远程存储的数据并/或需要反序列化,建议您使用 parallel_interleave 转换来重叠从不同文件读取(和反序列化)数据的操作。
  • 向量化传递给 map 转换的低开销用户定义函数,以分摊与调度和执行相应函数相关的开销。
  • 如果内存可以容纳您的数据,请使用 cache 转换在第一个周期中将数据缓存在内存中,以便后续周期可以避免与读取、解析和转换该数据相关的开销。
  • 如果预处理操作会增加数据大小,建议您首先应用 interleaveprefetchshuffle(如果可以)以减少内存使用量。
  • 建议您在应用 repeat 转换之前先应用 shuffle 转换,最好使用 shuffle_and_repeat 混合转换。

Data Input Pipeline Performance

GPUs and TPUs can radically reduce the time required to execute a single training step. Achieving peak performance requires an efficient input pipeline that delivers data for the next step before the current step has finished. The tf.data API helps to build flexible and efficient input pipelines. This document explains the tf.data API's features and best practices for building high performance TensorFlow input pipelines across a variety of models and accelerators.

This guide does the following:

  • Illustrates that TensorFlow input pipelines are essentially an ETL process.
  • Describes common performance optimizations in the context of the tf.data API.
  • Discusses the performance implications of the order in which you apply transformations.
  • Summarizes the best practices for designing performant TensorFlow input pipelines.

Input Pipeline Structure

A typical TensorFlow training input pipeline can be framed as an ETL process:

  1. Extract: Read data from persistent storage -- either local (e.g. HDD or SSD) or remote (e.g. GCS or HDFS).
  2. Transform: Use CPU cores to parse and perform preprocessing operations on the data such as image decompression, data augmentation transformations (such as random crop, flips, and color distortions), shuffling, and batching.
  3. Load: Load the transformed data onto the accelerator device(s) (for example, GPU(s) or TPU(s)) that execute the machine learning model.

This pattern effectively utilizes the CPU, while reserving the accelerator for the heavy lifting of training your model. In addition, viewing input pipelines as an ETL process provides structure that facilitates the application of performance optimizations.

When using the tf.estimator.Estimator API, the first two phases (Extract and Transform) are captured in the input_fn passed to tf.estimator.Estimator.train. In code, this might look like the following (naive, sequential) implementation:

def parse_fn(example):
  "Parse TFExample records and perform simple data augmentation."
  example_fmt = {
    "image": tf.FixedLengthFeature((), tf.string, ""),
    "label": tf.FixedLengthFeature((), tf.int64, -1)
  }
  parsed = tf.parse_single_example(example, example_fmt)
  image = tf.image.decode_image(parsed["image"])
  image = _augment_helper(image)  # augments image using slice, reshape, resize_bilinear
  return image, parsed["label"]

def input_fn():
  files = tf.data.Dataset.list_files("/path/to/dataset/train-*.tfrecord")
  dataset = files.interleave(tf.data.TFRecordDataset)
  dataset = dataset.shuffle(buffer_size=FLAGS.shuffle_buffer_size)
  dataset = dataset.map(map_func=parse_fn)
  dataset = dataset.batch(batch_size=FLAGS.batch_size)
  return dataset

The next section builds on this input pipeline, adding performance optimizations.

Optimizing Performance

As new computing devices (such as GPUs and TPUs) make it possible to train neural networks at an increasingly fast rate, the CPU processing is prone to becoming the bottleneck. The tf.data API provides users with building blocks to design input pipelines that effectively utilize the CPU, optimizing each step of the ETL process.

Pipelining

To perform a training step, you must first extract and transform the training data and then feed it to a model running on an accelerator. However, in a naive synchronous implementation, while the CPU is preparing the data, the accelerator is sitting idle. Conversely, while the accelerator is training the model, the CPU is sitting idle. The training step time is thus the sum of both CPU pre-processing time and the accelerator training time.

Pipelining overlaps the preprocessing and model execution of a training step. While the accelerator is performing training step N, the CPU is preparing the data for step N+1. Doing so reduces the step time to the maximum (as opposed to the sum) of the training and the time it takes to extract and transform the data.

Without pipelining, the CPU and the GPU/TPU sit idle much of the time:

without pipelining

With pipelining, idle time diminishes significantly:

with pipelining

The tf.data API provides a software pipelining mechanism through the tf.data.Dataset.prefetch transformation, which can be used to decouple the time data is produced from the time it is consumed. In particular, the transformation uses a background thread and an internal buffer to prefetch elements from the input dataset ahead of the time they are requested. Thus, to achieve the pipelining effect illustrated above, you can add prefetch(1) as the final transformation to your dataset pipeline (or prefetch(n) if a single training step consumes n elements).

To apply this change to our running example, change:

dataset = dataset.batch(batch_size=FLAGS.batch_size)
return dataset

to:

dataset = dataset.batch(batch_size=FLAGS.batch_size)
dataset = dataset.prefetch(buffer_size=FLAGS.prefetch_buffer_size)
return dataset

Note that the prefetch transformation will yield benefits any time there is an opportunity to overlap the work of a "producer" with the work of a "consumer." The preceding recommendation is simply the most common application.

Parallelize Data Transformation

When preparing a batch, input elements may need to be pre-processed. To this end, the tf.data API offers the tf.data.Dataset.map transformation, which applies a user-defined function (for example, parse_fn from the running example) to each element of the input dataset. Because input elements are independent of one another, the pre-processing can be parallelized across multiple CPU cores. To make this possible, the map transformation provides the num_parallel_calls argument to specify the level of parallelism. For example, the following diagram illustrates the effect of setting num_parallel_calls=2 to the map transformation:

parallel map

Choosing the best value for the num_parallel_calls argument depends on your hardware, characteristics of your training data (such as its size and shape), the cost of your map function, and what other processing is happening on the CPU at the same time; a simple heuristic is to use the number of available CPU cores. For instance, if the machine executing the example above had 4 cores, it would have been more efficient to set num_parallel_calls=4. On the other hand, setting num_parallel_calls to a value much greater than the number of available CPUs can lead to inefficient scheduling, resulting in a slowdown.

To apply this change to our running example, change:

dataset = dataset.map(map_func=parse_fn)

to:

dataset = dataset.map(map_func=parse_fn, num_parallel_calls=FLAGS.num_parallel_calls)

Furthermore, if your batch size is in the hundreds or thousands, your pipeline will likely additionally benefit from parallelizing the batch creation. To this end, the tf.data API provides the tf.contrib.data.map_and_batch transformation, which effectively "fuses" the map and batch transformations.

To apply this change to our running example, change:

dataset = dataset.map(map_func=parse_fn, num_parallel_calls=FLAGS.num_parallel_calls)
dataset = dataset.batch(batch_size=FLAGS.batch_size)

to:

dataset = dataset.apply(tf.contrib.data.map_and_batch(
    map_func=parse_fn, batch_size=FLAGS.batch_size))

Parallelize Data Extraction

In a real-world setting, the input data may be stored remotely (for example, GCS or HDFS), either because the input data would not fit locally or because the training is distributed and it would not make sense to replicate the input data on every machine. A dataset pipeline that works well when reading data locally might become bottlenecked on I/O when reading data remotely because of the following differences between local and remote storage:

  • Time-to-first-byte: Reading the first byte of a file from remote storage can take orders of magnitude longer than from local storage.
  • Read throughput: While remote storage typically offers large aggregate bandwidth, reading a single file might only be able to utilize a small fraction of this bandwidth.

In addition, once the raw bytes are read into memory, it may also be necessary to deserialize or decrypt the data (e.g. protobuf), which adds additional overhead. This overhead is present irrespective of whether the data is stored locally or remotely, but can be worse in the remote case if data is not prefetched effectively.

To mitigate the impact of the various data extraction overheads, the tf.data API offers the tf.contrib.data.parallel_interleave transformation. Use this transformation to parallelize the execution of and interleave the contents of other datasets (such as data file readers). The number of datasets to overlap can be specified by the cycle_length argument.

The following diagram illustrates the effect of supplying cycle_length=2 to the parallel_interleave transformation:

parallel io

To apply this change to our running example, change:

dataset = files.interleave(tf.data.TFRecordDataset)

to:

dataset = files.apply(tf.contrib.data.parallel_interleave(
    tf.data.TFRecordDataset, cycle_length=FLAGS.num_parallel_readers))

The throughput of remote storage systems can vary over time due to load or network events. To account for this variance, the parallel_interleave transformation can optionally use prefetching. (See tf.contrib.data.parallel_interleave for details).

By default, the parallel_interleave transformation provides a deterministic ordering of elements to aid reproducibility. As an alternative to prefetching (which may be ineffective in some cases), the parallel_interleave transformation also provides an option that can boost performance at the expense of ordering guarantees. In particular, if the sloppy argument is set to true, the transformation may depart from its otherwise deterministic ordering, by temporarily skipping over files whose elements are not available when the next element is requested.

Performance Considerations

The tf.data API is designed around composable transformations to provide its users with flexibility. Although many of these transformations are commutative, the ordering of certain transformations has performance implications.

Map and Batch

Invoking the user-defined function passed into the map transformation has overhead related to scheduling and executing the user-defined function. Normally, this overhead is small compared to the amount of computation performed by the function. However, if map does little work, this overhead can dominate the total cost. In such cases, we recommend vectorizing the user-defined function (that is, have it operate over a batch of inputs at once) and apply the batch transformation before the map transformation.

Map and Cache

The tf.data.Dataset.cache transformation can cache a dataset, either in memory or on local storage. If the user-defined function passed into the map transformation is expensive, apply the cache transformation after the map transformation as long as the resulting dataset can still fit into memory or local storage. If the user-defined function increases the space required to store the dataset beyond the cache capacity, consider pre-processing your data before your training job to reduce resource usage.

Map and Interleave / Prefetch / Shuffle

A number of transformations, including interleave, prefetch, and shuffle, maintain an internal buffer of elements. If the user-defined function passed into the map transformation changes the size of the elements, then the ordering of the map transformation and the transformations that buffer elements affects the memory usage. In general, we recommend choosing the order that results in lower memory footprint, unless different ordering is desirable for performance (for example, to enable fusing of the map and batch transformations).

Repeat and Shuffle

The tf.data.Dataset.repeat transformation repeats the input data a finite (or infinite) number of times; each repetition of the data is typically referred to as an epoch. The tf.data.Dataset.shuffle transformation randomizes the order of the dataset's examples.

If the repeat transformation is applied before the shuffle transformation, then the epoch boundaries are blurred. That is, certain elements can be repeated before other elements appear even once. On the other hand, if the shuffle transformation is applied before the repeat transformation, then performance might slow down at the beginning of each epoch related to initialization of the internal state of the shuffle transformation. In other words, the former (repeat before shuffle) provides better performance, while the latter (shuffle before repeat) provides stronger ordering guarantees.

When possible, we recommend using the fused tf.contrib.data.shuffle_and_repeat transformation, which combines the best of both worlds (good performance and strong ordering guarantees). Otherwise, we recommend shuffling before repeating.

Summary of Best Practices

Here is a summary of the best practices for designing input pipelines:

  • Use the prefetch transformation to overlap the work of a producer and consumer. In particular, we recommend adding prefetch(n) (where n is the number of elements / batches consumed by a training step) to the end of your input pipeline to overlap the transformations performed on the CPU with the training done on the accelerator.
  • Parallelize the map transformation by setting the num_parallel_calls argument. We recommend using the number of available CPU cores for its value.
  • If you are combining pre-processed elements into a batch using the batch transformation, we recommend using the fused map_and_batch transformation; especially if you are using large batch sizes.
  • If you are working with data stored remotely and / or requiring deserialization, we recommend using the parallel_interleave transformation to overlap the reading (and deserialization) of data from different files.
  • Vectorize cheap user-defined functions passed in to the map transformation to amortize the overhead associated with scheduling and executing the function.
  • If your data can fit into memory, use the cache transformation to cache it in memory during the first epoch, so that subsequent epochs can avoid the overhead associated with reading, parsing, and transforming it.
  • If your pre-processing increases the size of your data, we recommend applying the interleave, prefetch, and shuffle first (if possible) to reduce memory usage.
  • We recommend applying the shuffle transformation before the repeat transformation, ideally using the fused shuffle_and_repeat transformation.