Save the date! Google I/O returns May 18-20 Register now

文本任务的通用 SavedModel API

本页面介绍用于文本相关任务的 TF2 SavedModel 应当如何实现可重用的 SavedModel API。(这会替换现已弃用的 TF1 Hub 格式通用文本签名。)

概述

有几个 API 可用于计算文本嵌入向量(也称为文本的密集表示或文本特征向量)。

  • 来自文本输入的文本嵌入向量的 API 由可将一批字符串映射到一批嵌入向量的 SavedModel 实现。此 API 非常易用,TF Hub 上的许多模型都已实现它。但是,此 API 不允许在 TPU 上微调模型。

  • 包含预处理输入的文本嵌入向量的 API 可解决相同的任务,但它由两个单独的 SavedModel 实现:

    • 一个预处理程序,可以在 tf.data 输入流水线中运行并将字符串和其他可变长度数据转换为数值张量,
    • 一个编码器,接受预处理程序的结果并执行嵌入向量计算的可训练部分。

    这种拆分允许在馈送到训练循环之前对输入进行异步预处理。特别是,它允许构建可在 TPU 上运行和微调的编码器。

  • 包含 Transformer 编码器的文本嵌入向量的 API 可将预处理输入中文本嵌入向量的 API 扩展为 BERT 和其他 Transformer 编码器的特殊情况。

    • 预处理程序扩展为从多段输入文本中构建编码器输入。
    • Transformer 编码器公开各个词例的上下文感知嵌入向量。

在每种情况下,除非模型文档另有规定,否则文本输入均为 UTF-8 编码的字符串,通常为纯文本。

无论使用哪种 API,都已经针对来自不同语言和域的文本预训练了不同的模型,并考虑了不同的任务。因此,并非每个文本嵌入向量模型都适用于所有问题。

来自文本输入的文本嵌入向量

来自文本输入的文本嵌入向量的 SavedModel 接受形状为 [batch_size] 的字符串张量中的一批输入,并将它们映射到形状为 [batch_size, dim] 的 float32 张量,其中包含输入的密集表示(特征向量)。

用法概要

obj = hub.load("path/to/model")
text_input = ["A long sentence.",
              "single-word",
              "http://example.com"]
embeddings = obj(text_input)

从在训练模式下运行模型的可重用 SavedModel API 召回(例如,用于随机失活)可能需要关键字参数 obj(..., training=True),并且该 obj 在适用时提供特性 .variables.trainable_variables.regularization_losses

在 Keras 中,所有这些工作都由以下代码完成:

embeddings = hub.KerasLayer("path/to/model", trainable=...)(text_input)

分布式训练

如果将文本嵌入向量用作通过分布策略进行训练的模型的一部分,则对 hub.load("path/to/model")hub.KerasLayer("path/to/model", ...) 的调用必须在 DistributionStrategy 范围内发生,以便以分布式方式创建模型的变量。例如:

  with strategy.scope():
    ...
    model = hub.load("path/to/model")
    ...

示例

包含预处理输入的文本嵌入向量

包含预处理输入的文本嵌入向量由两个单独的 SavedModel 实现:

  • 一个预处理程序,可将形状为 [batch_size] 的字符串张量映射到数值张量词典,
  • 一个编码器,接受预处理程序返回的张量字典,执行嵌入向量计算的可训练部分,并返回一个输出字典。键 "default" 下的输出是一个形状为 [batch_size, dim] 的 float32 张量。

这允许在输入流水线中运行预处理程序,但会将编码器计算的嵌入向量作为更大模型的一部分进行微调。特别是,它允许构建可在 TPU 上运行和微调的编码器。

它是一个实现细节,涉及到哪些张量包含在预处理程序的输出中,以及除了 "default" 外,哪些额外的张量(如果有)包含在编码器的输出中。

编码器的文档必须指定使用哪个预处理程序。通常,只有一个正确选择。

用法概要

text_input = tf.constant(["A long sentence.",
                          "single-word",
                          "http://example.com"])
preprocessor = hub.load("path/to/preprocessor")  # Must match `encoder`.
encoder_inputs = preprocessor(text_input)

encoder = hub.load("path/to/encoder")
enocder_outputs = encoder(encoder_inputs)
embeddings = enocder_outputs["default"]

从在训练模式下运行编码器的可重用 SavedModel API 召回(例如,用于随机失活)可能需要关键字参数 encoder(..., training=True),并且该 encoder 在适用时提供特性 .variables.trainable_variables.regularization_losses

preprocessor 模型可以具有 .variables,但并不意味着需要进一步训练。预处理不依赖于模式:如果 preprocessor() 具有完整的 training=... 参数,则它没有任何影响。

在 Keras 中,所有这些工作都由以下代码完成:

encoder_inputs = hub.KerasLayer("path/to/preprocessor")(text_input)
encoder_outputs = hub.KerasLayer("path/to/encoder", trainable=True)(encoder_inputs)
embeddings = encoder_outputs["default"]

分布式训练

如果编码器用作通过分布策略进行训练的模型的一部分,则对 hub.load("path/to/encoder")hub.KerasLayer("path/to/encoder", ...) 的调用必须发生在以下代码内部,

  with strategy.scope():
    ...

以便以分布式方式重新创建编码器变量。

同样,如果预处理程序是已训练模型的一部分(如上面的简单示例所示),则也需要将其加载到分布策略范围内。但是,如果在输入流水线中使用了预处理程序(例如,在传递给 tf.data.Dataset.map() 的可调用对象中),则其加载必须发生在分布策略范围以外,以便将其变量(如果有)放置在主机 CPU 上。

示例

包含 Transfrmer 编码器的文本嵌入向量

文本的 Transformer 编码器在一批输入序列上运行,每个序列由 n 上的一些模型特定边界内的 n ≥ 1 个词例化文本段构成。对于 BERT 及其许多扩展,该边界为 2,因此它们接受单个段和段对。

包含 Transformer 编码器的文本嵌入向量的 API 可将包含预处理输入的文本嵌入向量的 API 扩展为此设置。

预处理程序

包含 Transformer 编码器的文本嵌入向量的预处理程序 SavedModel 实现包含预处理输入的文本嵌入向量的预处理程序 SavedModel 的 API(请参阅上文),此 API 提供了一种将单段文本输入直接映射到编码器输入的方法。

此外,预处理程序 SavedModel 还提供了两个可调用子对象 tokenizebert_pack_inputs,它们分别用于词例化(每个段单独处理)以及将 n 个词例化段打包到编码器的一个输入序列中。每个子对象都遵循可重用 SavedModel API

用法概要

作为两个文本段的具体示例,我们看一个句子蕴涵任务,该任务询问前提(第一段)是否暗含假设(第二段)。

preprocessor = hub.load("path/to/preprocessor")

# Tokenize batches of both text inputs.
text_premises = tf.constant(["The quick brown fox jumped over the lazy dog.",
                             "Good day."])
tokenized_premises = preprocessor.tokenize(text_premises)
text_hypotheses = tf.constant(["The dog was lazy.",  # Implied.
                               "Axe handle!"])       # Not implied.
tokenized_hypotheses = preprocessor.tokenize(text_hypotheses)

# Pack input sequences for the Transformer encoder.
seq_length = 128
encoder_inputs = preprocessor.bert_pack_inputs(
    [tokenized_premises, tokenized_hypotheses],
    seq_length=seq_length)  # Optional argument.

在 Keras 中,计算过程可表示为:

tokenize = hub.KerasLayer(preprocessor.tokenize)
tokenized_hypotheses = tokenize(text_hypotheses)
tokenized_premises = tokenize(text_premises)

bert_pack_inputs = hub.KerasLayer(
    preprocessor.bert_pack_inputs,
    arguments=dict(seq_length=seq_length))  # Optional argument.
encoder_inputs = bert_pack_inputs([tokenized_premises, tokenized_hypotheses])

tokenize 的详细信息

preprocessor.tokenize() 的调用接受形状为 [batch_size] 的字符串张量,并返回形状为 [batch_size, ...]RaggedTensor,其值为表示输入字符串的 int32 词例 ID。batch_size 之后可以有 r ≥ 1 个不规则维度,但没有其他统一维度。

  • 如果 r=1,则形状为 [batch_size, (tokens)],每个输入都会简单地词例化为一个扁平词例序列。
  • 如果 r>1,则还有 r-1 个额外的分组级别。例如,tensorflow_text.BertTokenizer 使用 r=2 来按词语对词例进行分组并产生形状 [batch_size, (words), (tokens_per_word)]。这取决于现有模型有多少额外的级别存在(如果有)以及它们代表哪些组。

用户可以(但不需要)修改词例化输入,例如,目的是适应将在打包编码器输入中强制执行的 seq_length 限制。分词器输出中的额外维度在这里能提供一些帮助(例如,遵守词边界),但在下一个步骤中会变得毫无意义。

可重用 SavedModel API 而言,preprocessor.tokenize 对象可以具有 .variables,但并不意味着需要进一步训练。词例化不依赖于模式:如果 preprocessor.tokenize() 具有完整的 training=... 参数,则它没有任何影响。

bert_pack_inputs 的详细信息

preprocessor.bert_pack_inputs() 的调用接受词例化输入的 Python 列表(对每个输入段单独进行批处理),并返回一个张量字典,表示用于 Transformer 编码器模型的一批固定长度输入序列。

每个词例化输入都是一个形状为 [batch_size, ...] 的 int32 RaggedTensor,其中 batch_size 之后的不规则维度数量 r 为 1 或与 preprocessor.tokenize() 的输出中的数量相同(后者仅为方便起见;额外的维度在打包前已展平)。

打包过程会按照编码器的预期在输入段周围添加特殊词例。bert_pack_inputs() 调用完全实现了原始 BERT 模型及其许多扩展所使用的打包方案:打包序列以一个序列开始词例开头,随后是词例化段,每个段都以一个段结束词例终止。seq_length 之前的剩余位置(如果有)会被填充词例填满。

如果打包序列超过 seq_length,则 bert_pack_inputs() 会将其段截断为大小近似相等的前缀,以便使打包序列恰好适合 seq_length。

打包不依赖于模式:如果 preprocessor.bert_pack_inputs() 具有完整的 training=... 参数,则它没有任何影响。此外,preprocessor.bert_pack_inputs 不应具有变量或支持微调。

编码器

编码器在 encoder_inputs 的字典上调用,其方式与包含预处理输入的文本嵌入向量的 API 相同(请参阅上文),包括可重用 SavedModel API 中的规定 。

用法概要

enocder = hub.load("path/to/encoder")
enocder_outputs = encoder(encoder_inputs)

在 Keras 中的等效代码为:

encoder = hub.KerasLayer("path/to/encoder", trainable=True)
encoder_outputs = encoder(encoder_inputs)

详细信息

encoder_outputs 是具有以下键的张量字典。

  • "sequence_output":一个形状为 [batch_size, seq_length, dim] 的 float32 张量,包含对每个打包输入序列中每个词例的上下文感知嵌入向量。
  • "pooled_output":一个形状为 [batch_size, dim] 的 float32 张量,包含作为整体的每个输入序列的嵌入向量,以某种可训练方式派生自 sequence_output。
  • "default",包含预处理输入的文本嵌入向量的 API 需要此键:它是一个形状为 [batch_size, dim] 的 float32 张量,包含每个输入序列的嵌入向量(这可能只是 pooled_output 的别名)。

此 API 定义并未严格要求 encoder_inputs 的内容。但是,对于使用 BERT 样式输入的编码器,建议使用以下名称(来自 TensorFlow Model Garden 的 NLP Modeling Toolkit)最大程度减少互换编码器和重用预处理程序模型时的摩擦:

  • "input_word_ids":一个形状为 [batch_size, seq_length] 的 int32 张量,包含打包输入序列(即,包括序列开始词例、段结束词例和填充)的词例 ID。
  • "input_mask":一个形状为 [batch_size, seq_length] 的 int32 张量,填充之前存在的所有输入词例的位置处的值为 1,填充词例的值为 0。
  • "input_type_ids":一个形状为 [batch_size, seq_length] 的 int32 张量,包含在相应位置处产生输入词例的输入段的索引。第一个输入段(索引 0)包括序列开始词例及其段结束词例。第二段和后续段(如果存在)包括其重复的段结束词例。填充词例再次获得索引 0。

分布式训练

对于在分布策略范围以内或以外加载预处理程序和编码器对象,同样的规则也适用于包含预处理输入的文本嵌入向量的 API(请参阅上文)。

示例

Common SavedModel APIs for Text Tasks

This page describes how TF2 SavedModels for text-related tasks should implement the Reusable SavedModel API. (This replaces and extends the Common Signatures for Text for the now-deprecated TF1 Hub format.)

Overview

There are several APIs to compute text embeddings (also known as dense representations of text, or text feature vectors).

  • The API for text embeddings from text inputs is implemented by a SavedModel that maps a batch of strings to a batch of embedding vectors. This is very easy to use, and many models on TF Hub have implemented it. However, this does not allow fine-tuning the model on TPU.

  • The API for text embeddings with preprocessed inputs solves the same task, but is implemented by two separate SavedModels:

    • a preprocessor that can run inside a tf.data input pipeline and converts strings and other variable-length data into numeric Tensors,
    • an encoder that accepts the results of the preprocessor and performs the trainable part of the embbedding computation.

    This split allows inputs to be preprocessed asynchronously before being fed into the training loop. In particular, it allows building encoders that can be run and fine-tuned on TPU.

  • The API for text embeddings with Transformer encoders extends the API for text embeddings from preprocessed inputs to the particular case of BERT and other Transformer encoders.

    • The preprocessor is extended to build encoder inputs from more than one segment of input text.

    • The Transformer encoder exposes the context-aware embeddings of individual tokens.

In each case, the text inputs are UTF-8 encoded strings, typically of plain text, unless the model documentation provides otherwise.

Regardless of API, different models have been pre-trained on text from different languages and domains, and with different tasks in mind. Therefore, not every text embedding model is suitable for every problem.

Text Embedding from Text Inputs

A SavedModel for text embeddings from text inputs accepts a batch of inputs in a string Tensor of shape [batch_size] and maps them to a float32 Tensor of shape [batch_size, dim] with dense representations (feature vectors) of the inputs.

Usage synopsis

obj = hub.load("path/to/model")
text_input = ["A long sentence.",
              "single-word",
              "http://example.com"]
embeddings = obj(text_input)

Recall from the Reusable SavedModel API that running the model in training mode (e.g., for dropout) may require a keyword argument obj(..., training=True), and that obj provides attributes .variables, .trainable_variables and .regularization_losses as applicable.

In Keras, all this is taken care of by

embeddings = hub.KerasLayer("path/to/model", trainable=...)(text_input)

Distributed training

If the text embedding is used as part of a model that gets trained with a distribution strategy, the call to hub.load("path/to/model") or hub.KerasLayer("path/to/model", ...), resp., must happen inside the DistributionStrategy scope in order to create the model's variables in the distributed way. For example

  with strategy.scope():
    ...
    model = hub.load("path/to/model")
    ...

Examples

Text Embeddings with Preprocessed Inputs

A text embedding with preprocessed inputs is implemented by two separate SavedModels:

  • a preprocessor that maps a string Tensor of shape [batch_size] to a dict of numeric Tensors,
  • an encoder that accepts a dict of Tensors as returned by the preprocessor, performs the trainable part of the embbedding computation, and returns a dict of outputs. The output under key "default" is a float32 Tensor of shape [batch_size, dim].

This allows to run the preprocessor in an input pipeline but fine-tune the embeddings computed by the encoder as part of a larger model. In particular, it allows to build encoders that can be run and fine-tuned on TPU.

It is an implementation detail which Tensors are contained in the preprocessor's output, and which (if any) additional Tensors besides "default" are contained in the encoder's output.

The documentation of the encoder must specify which preprocessor to use with it. Typically, there is exactly one correct choice.

Usage synopsis

text_input = tf.constant(["A long sentence.",
                          "single-word",
                          "http://example.com"])
preprocessor = hub.load("path/to/preprocessor")  # Must match `encoder`.
encoder_inputs = preprocessor(text_input)

encoder = hub.load("path/to/encoder")
enocder_outputs = encoder(encoder_inputs)
embeddings = enocder_outputs["default"]

Recall from the Reusable SavedModel API that running the encoder in training mode (e.g., for dropout) may require a keyword argument encoder(..., training=True), and that encoder provides attributes .variables, .trainable_variables and .regularization_losses as applicable.

The preprocessor model may have .variables but is not meant to be trained further. Preprocessing is not mode-dependent: if preprocessor() has a training=... argument at all, it has no effect.

In Keras, all this is taken care of by

encoder_inputs = hub.KerasLayer("path/to/preprocessor")(text_input)
encoder_outputs = hub.KerasLayer("path/to/encoder", trainable=True)(encoder_inputs)
embeddings = encoder_outputs["default"]

Distributed training

If the encoder is used as part of a model that gets trained with a distribution strategy, the call to hub.load("path/to/encoder") or hub.KerasLayer("path/to/encoder", ...), resp., must happen inside

  with strategy.scope():
    ...

in order to re-create the encoder variables in the distributed way.

Likewise, if the preprocessor is part of the trained model (as in the simple example above), it also needs to be loaded under the distribution strategy scope. If, however, the preprocessor is used in an input pipeline (e.g., in a callable passed to tf.data.Dataset.map()), its loading must happen outside the distribution strategy scope, in order to place its variables (if any) on the host CPU.

Text embeddings with Transformer Encoders

Transformer encoders for text operate on a batch of input sequences, each sequence comprising n ≥ 1 segments of tokenized text, within some model-specific bound on n. For BERT and many of its extensions, that bound is 2, so they accept single segments and segment pairs.

The API for text embeddings with Transformer encoders extends the API for text embeddings with preprocessed inputs to this setting.

Preprocessor

A preprocessor SavedModel for text embeddings with Transformer encoders implements the API of a preprocessor SavedModel for text embeddings with preprocessed inputs (see above), which provides a way to map single-segment text inputs directly to encoder inputs.

In addition, the preprocessor SavedModel provides callable subobjects tokenize for tokenization (separately per segment) and bert_pack_inputs for packing n tokenized segments into one input sequence for the encoder. Each subobject follows the Reusable SavedModel API.

Usage synopsis

As a concrete example for two segments of text, let us look at a sentence entailment task that asks whether a premise (first segment) does or does not imply a hypothesis (second segment).

preprocessor = hub.load("path/to/preprocessor")

# Tokenize batches of both text inputs.
text_premises = tf.constant(["The quick brown fox jumped over the lazy dog.",
                             "Good day."])
tokenized_premises = preprocessor.tokenize(text_premises)
text_hypotheses = tf.constant(["The dog was lazy.",  # Implied.
                               "Axe handle!"])       # Not implied.
tokenized_hypotheses = preprocessor.tokenize(text_hypotheses)

# Pack input sequences for the Transformer encoder.
seq_length = 128
encoder_inputs = preprocessor.bert_pack_inputs(
    [tokenized_premises, tokenized_hypotheses],
    seq_length=seq_length)  # Optional argument.

In Keras, this computation can be expessed as

tokenize = hub.KerasLayer(preprocessor.tokenize)
tokenized_hypotheses = tokenize(text_hypotheses)
tokenized_premises = tokenize(text_premises)

bert_pack_inputs = hub.KerasLayer(
    preprocessor.bert_pack_inputs,
    arguments=dict(seq_length=seq_length))  # Optional argument.
encoder_inputs = bert_pack_inputs([tokenized_premises, tokenized_hypotheses])

Details of tokenize

A call to preprocessor.tokenize() accepts a string Tensor of shape [batch_size] and returns a RaggedTensor of shape [batch_size, ...] whose values are int32 token ids representing the input strings. There can be r ≥ 1 ragged dimensions after batch_size but no other uniform dimension.

  • If r=1, the shape is [batch_size, (tokens)], and each input is simply tokenized into a flat sequence of tokens.
  • If r>1, there are r-1 additional levels of grouping. For example, tensorflow_text.BertTokenizer uses r=2 to group tokens by words and yields shape [batch_size, (words), (tokens_per_word)]. It is up to the model at hand how many of these extra level(s) exist, if any, and what groupings they represent.

The user can (but need not) modify tokenized inputs, e.g., to accommodate the seq_length limit that will be enforced in packing encoder inputs. Extra dimensions in the tokenizer output can help here (e.g., to respect word boundaries) but become meaningless in the next step.

In terms of the Reusable SavedModel API, the preprocessor.tokenize object may have .variables but is not meant to be trained further. Tokenization is not mode-dependent: if preprocessor.tokenize() has a training=... argument at all, it has no effect.

Details of bert_pack_inputs

A call to preprocessor.bert_pack_inputs() accepts a Python list of tokenized inputs (batched separately for each input segment) and returns a dict of Tensors representing a batch of fixed-length input sequences for the Transformer encoder model.

Each tokenized input is an int32 RaggedTensor of shape [batch_size, ...], where the number r of ragged dimensions after batch_size is either 1 or the same as in the output of preprocessor.tokenize(). (The latter is for convenience only; the extra dimensions are flattened out before packing.)

Packing adds special tokens around the input segments as expected by the encoder. The bert_pack_inputs() call implements exactly the packing scheme used by the original BERT models and many of their extensions: the packed sequence starts with one start-of-sequence token, followed by the tokenized segments, each terminated by one end-of-segment token. Remaining positions up to seq_length, if any, are filled up with padding tokens.

If a packed sequence would exceed seq_length, bert_pack_inputs() truncates its segments to prefixes of approximately equal sizes so that the packed sequence fits exactly within seq_length.

Packing is not mode-dependent: if preprocessor.bert_pack_inputs() has a training=... argument at all, it has no effect. Also, preprocessor.bert_pack_inputs is not expected to have variables, or support fine-tuning.

Encoder

The encoder is called on the dict of encoder_inputs in the same way as in the API for text embeddings with preprocessed inputs (see above), including the provisions from the Reusable SavedModel API.

Usage synposis

enocder = hub.load("path/to/encoder")
enocder_outputs = encoder(encoder_inputs)

or equivalently in Keras:

encoder = hub.KerasLayer("path/to/encoder", trainable=True)
encoder_outputs = encoder(encoder_inputs)

Details

The encoder_outputs are a dict of Tensors with the following keys.

  • "sequence_output": a float32 Tensor of shape [batch_size, seq_length, dim] with the context-aware embedding of each token of every packed input sequence.
  • "pooled_output": a float32 Tensor of shape [batch_size, dim] with the embedding of each input sequence as a whole, derived from sequence_output in some trainable manner.
  • "default", as required by the API for text embeddings with preprocessed inputs: a float32 Tensor of shape [batch_size, dim] with the embedding of each input sequence. (This might be just an alias of pooled_output.)

The contents of the encoder_inputs are not strictly required by this API definition. However, for encoders that use BERT-style inputs, it is recommended to use the following names (from the NLP Modeling Toolkit of TensorFlow Model Garden) to minimize friction in interchanging encoders and reusing preprocessor models:

  • "input_word_ids": an int32 Tensor of shape [batch_size, seq_length] with the token ids of the packed input sequence (that is, including a start-of-sequence token, end-of-segment tokens, and padding).
  • "input_mask": an int32 Tensor of shape [batch_size, seq_length] with value 1 at the position of all input tokens present before padding and value 0 for the padding tokens.
  • "input_type_ids": an int32 Tensor of shape [batch_size, seq_length] with the index of the input segment that gave rise to the input token at the respective position. The first input segment (index 0) includes the start-of-sequence token and its end-of-segment token. The second and later segments (if present) include their respetive end-of-segment token. Padding tokens get index 0 again.

Distributed training

For loading the preprocessor and encoder objects inside or outside a distribution strategy scope, the same rules apply as in the API for text embeddings with preprocessed inputs (see above).