从 TF Hub 缓存下载的模型

摘要

从 tfhub.dev(或其他托管网站)下载并解压缩模型后,tensorflow_hub 库会将这些模型缓存到文件系统上。下载位置默认为本地临时目录,但可以通过设置环境变量 TFHUB_CACHE_DIR(推荐)或传递命令行标记 --tfhub_cache_dir 进行自定义。使用永久位置时,请注意不会自动清理。

在实际 Python 代码中调用 tensorflow_hub 函数可以并且应当继续使用模型的规范 tfhub.dev 网址,这些网址可以跨系统移植且适用于文档导航。

特定执行环境

是否需要更改默认的 TFHUB_CACHE_DIR 以及如何更改取决于执行环境。

在工作站上本地运行

对于在其工作站上运行 TensorFlow 程序的用户,它在大多数情况下都可以正常使用默认位置 /tmp/tfhub_modules,或者 Python 为 os.path.join(tempfile.gettempdir(), "tfhub_modules") 返回的位置。

希望在系统重新启动后永久缓存的用户可以将 TFHUB_CACHE_DIR 设置为其主目录中的某个位置。例如,Linux 系统上的 bash shell 用户可以在 ~/.bashrc 中添加如下所示的行:

export TFHUB_CACHE_DIR=$HOME/.cache/tfhub_modules

…重新启动 shell,随后将使用此位置。

在 Colab 笔记本中的 TPU 上运行

通过 Colab 笔记本在 CPU 和 GPU 上运行 TensorFlow 时,使用默认的本地缓存位置即可。

在 TPU 上运行会委托给另一台无法访问默认本地缓存位置的计算机。具有自己的 Google Cloud Storage (GCS) 存储分区的用户可通过以下方式解决此问题:使用如下所示的代码将该存储分区中的目录设置为缓存位置

import os
os.environ["TFHUB_CACHE_DIR"] = "gs://my-bucket/tfhub-modules-cache"

…在调用 tensorflow_hub 库前完成此操作。

Caching model downloads from TF Hub

Summary

The tensorflow_hub library caches models on the filesystem when they have been downloaded from tfhub.dev (or other hosting sites) and decompressed. The download location defaults to a local temporary directory but can be customized by setting the environment variable TFHUB_CACHE_DIR (recommended) or passing the command-line flag --tfhub_cache_dir. When using a persistent location, be aware that there is no automatic cleanup.

The calls to tensorflow_hub functions in the actual Python code can and should continue to use the canonical tfhub.dev URLs of models, which are portable across systems and navigable for documentation.

Specific execution environments

If and how the default TFHUB_CACHE_DIR needs changing depends on the execution environment.

Running locally on a workstation

For users running TensorFlow programs on their workstation, it should just work in most cases to keep using the default location /tmp/tfhub_modules, or whatever it is that Python returns for os.path.join(tempfile.gettempdir(), "tfhub_modules").

Users who prefer persistent caching across system reboots can instead set TFHUB_CACHE_DIR to a location in their home directory. For example, a user of the bash shell on a Linux system can add a line like the following to ~/.bashrc

export TFHUB_CACHE_DIR=$HOME/.cache/tfhub_modules

...restart the shell, and then this location will be used.

Running on TPU in Colab notebooks

For running TensorFlow on CPU and GPU from within a Colab notebook, using the default local cache location should just work.

Running on TPU delegates to another machine that does not have access to the default local cache location. Users with their own Google Cloud Storage (GCS) bucket can work around this by setting a directory in that bucket as the cache location with code like

import os
os.environ["TFHUB_CACHE_DIR"] = "gs://my-bucket/tfhub-modules-cache"

...before calling the tensorflow_hub library.