可重用 SavedModel

简介

TensorFlow Hub 用于托管 TensorFlow 2 的 SavedModel 等资源。开发者可以使用 obj = hub.load(url) 将这些资源重新加载到 Python 程序中 [了解详情]。返回的 objtf.saved_model.load() 的结果(请参阅 TensorFlow 的 SavedModel 指南)。此对象可以具有任意特性,包括 tf.functions、tf.Variables(从其预训练值初始化)、其他资源,以及递归地包含更多此类对象。

本页将介绍在 TensorFlow Python 程序中重用资源而需要通过加载的 obj 实现的接口。符合此类接口条件的 SavedModel 称为可重用 SavedModel

“重用”意味着围绕 obj 构建更大的模型,并且应当能够进行微调。微调意味着进一步训练作为周围模型一部分的加载 obj 中的权重。损失函数和优化器由周围模型确定;obj 仅定义输入到输出激活的映射(“前向传递”),可能包括诸如随机失活或批次归一化等技术。

按照上述概念,对于所有要重用的 SavedModel,TensorFlow Hub 团队均建议实现可重用 SavedModel 接口tensorflow_hub 库中的许多实用工具(特别是 hub.KerasLayer)都需要 SavedModel 来实现。

与 SignatureDef 的关系

就 tf.function 和其他 TF2 特征而言,此接口与 SavedModel 的签名不同,该签名自 TF1 起便可用,并沿用到 TF2 中用于推理(例如将 SavedModel 部署到 TF Serving 或 TF Lite)。推理的签名表达力不够充分,不支持微调,而 tf.function 为重用模型提供了更自然和更具表达力的 Python API

与建模 API 的关系

可重用 SavedModel 仅使用 TensorFlow 2 基元,与任何特定的建模 API(例如 Keras 或 Sonnet)无关。这有助于在建模 API 间重用,而无需依赖原始建模代码。

将可重用 SavedModel 加载到任何给定建模 API 或通过这些 API 保存 SavedModel,都需要进行一些调整。对于 Keras,hub.KerasLayer 提供加载,Keras 中以 SavedModel 格式保存的内置功能已针对 TF2 重新设计,旨在提供此接口的超集(请参阅 2019 年 5 月的 RFC)。

接口定义

特性

可重用 SavedModel 为 TensorFlow 2 SavedModel,obj = tf.saved_model.load(...) 将返回具有以下特性的对象:

  • __call__:必选。实现模型计算(“前向传递”)的 tf.function,遵循以下规范。

  • variables:tf.Variable 对象列表,列出了 __call__ 的任何可能调用使用的所有变量,包括可训练和不可训练变量。

    如果为空,则可省略此列表。

    注:为方便记录,在加载 TF1 SavedModel 以表示其 GLOBAL_VARIABLES 集合时,此名称与 tf.saved_model.load(...) 合成的特性一致。

  • trainable_variablesv.trainable 对于所有元素均为 true 的 tf.Variable 对象列表。这些变量必须是 variables 的子集。它们是微调对象时要训练的变量。SavedModel 创建者可在此选择省略一些最初可训练的变量,以表明在微调期间不应修改这些变量。

    如果为空,则可省略此列表,特别是当 SavedModel 不支持微调时。

  • regularization_losses:tf.function 列表,其中的每个函数均接受零输入并返回单个标量浮点张量。为了进行微调,建议 SavedModel 用户将这些函数作为附加正则化项包括在损失中(在最简单的情况下,无需进一步缩放)。通常,它们用于表示权重正则化器。(由于缺少输入,这些 tf.function 无法表达活动正则化器。)

    如果为空,则可省略此列表,特别是当 SavedModel 不支持微调或不希望规定权重正则化时。

__call__ 函数

恢复的 SavedModel obj 具有 obj.__call__ 特性,为恢复的 tf.function,支持按以下方法调用 obj

Synopsis(伪代码):

outputs = obj(inputs, trainable=..., **kwargs)

参数

参数如下。

  • 有一个位置必选参数,其中包含 SavedModel 的一批输入激活。其类型为以下三者之一:

    • 单个张量,针对单个输入;
    • 张量列表,针对未命名输入的有序序列;
    • 张量字典,由一组特定输入名称键控。

    (此接口的未来修订版本可能支持更多的常规嵌套。)SavedModel 创建者选择其中一种类型,并选择张量形状和数据类型。适用情况下,形状的某些维度应不予确定(尤其是批次大小)。

  • 有一项可选的关键字参数 training,该参数接受 Python 布尔值 TrueFalse。默认值为 False。如果模型支持微调,并且其计算在两者(例如,随机失活和批次归一化)之间有所不同,则可以使用此参数实现该区别。否则,可以不使用此参数。

    __call__ 不必接受张量值 training 参数。如果有必要,则由调用者使用 tf.cond() 在它们之间进行调度。

  • SavedModel 创建者可以选择接受更多具有特定名称的可选 kwargs

    • 对于张量值参数,SavedModel 创建者可定义其允许的数据类型和形状。tf.function 接受在使用 tf.TensorSpec 输入跟踪的参数上使用 Python 默认值。此类参数可用于自定义 __call__ 中涉及的数字超参数(例如,随机失活率)。

    • 对于 Python 值参数,SavedModel 创建者可定义其允许的值。此类参数可用作标记,在跟踪函数中进行离散选择(但要注意跟踪记录的组合爆炸式增长)。

恢复的 __call__ 函数必须提供对所有允许的参数组合的跟踪记录。在 TrueFalse 之间切换 training 不得改变参数的容许性。

结果

调用 obj 所得的 outputs 可以是:

  • 单个张量,针对单个输出;
  • 张量列表,针对未命名输出的有序序列;
  • 张量字典,由一组特定输出名称键控。

(此接口的未来修订版本可能支持更多的常规嵌套。)返回类型可能会因 Python 值关键字参数而异。这样可以考虑到产生额外输出的标记。SavedModel 创建者定义输出数据类型和形状及其对输入的依赖。

命名可调用对象

按照上述方法,可重用 SavedModel 可以通过放入命名子对象(例如 obj.fooobj.bar 等)来提供多个模型部分。每个子对象提供一个 __call__ 方法,并支持特定于该模型部分的变量等方面的特性。对于上述示例,将包括 obj.foo.__call__obj.foo.variables 等。

请注意,此接口包括直接将裸 tf.function 添加为 tf.foo 的方法。

可重用 SavedModel 的用户只能处理一级嵌套 (obj.bar,而非 obj.bar.baz)。(此接口的未来修订版本可能支持更深层的嵌套,并且可能放弃对顶级对象本身可调用的要求。)

结束语

与进程中 API 的关系

本文档介绍了由 tf.function 和 tf.Variable 等基元组成的 Python 类的接口,这些基元通过 tf.saved_model.save()tf.saved_model.load() 执行序列化和反序列化。但是,传递给 tf.saved_model.save() 的原始对象已经具有该接口。适配该接口可以在单个 TensorFlow 程序中实现跨建模 API 交换模型部分。

Missed TensorFlow World? Check out the recap. Learn more

Reusable SavedModels

Introduction

TensorFlow Hub hosts SavedModels for TensorFlow 2, among other assets. They can be loaded back into a Python program with obj = hub.load(url) [learn more]. The returned obj is the result of tf.saved_model.load() (see TensorFlow's SavedModel guide). This object can have arbitrary attributes that are tf.functions, tf.Variables (initialized from their pre-trained values), other resources and, recursively, more such objects.

This page describes an interface to be implemented by the loaded obj in order to be reused in a TensorFlow Python program. SavedModels conforming to this interface are called Reusable SavedModels.

Reusing means building a larger model around obj, including the ability to fine-tune. Fine-tuning means further training of the weights in the loaded obj as part of the surrounding model. The loss function and the optimizer are determined by the surrounding model; obj only defines the mapping of input to output activations (the "forward pass"), possibly including techniques such as dropout or batch normalization.

The TensorFlow Hub team recommends implementing the Reusable SavedModel interface in all SavedModels that are meant to be reused in the above sense. Many utilities from the tensorflow_hub library, notably hub.KerasLayer, require SavedModels to implement it.

Relation to SignatureDefs

This interface in terms of tf.functions and other TF2 features is separate from the SavedModel's signatures, which have been available since TF1 and continue to be used in TF2 for inference (such as deploying SavedModels to TF Serving or TF Lite). signatures for inference are not expressive enough to support fine-tuning, and tf.function provides a more natural and expressive Python API for the reused model.

Relation to model-building APIs

A Reusable SavedModel uses only TensorFlow 2 primitives, independent of any particular model-building API like Keras or Sonnet. This facilitates reuse across model-building APIs, free from dependencies on the original model building code.

Some amount of adaptation will be needed load Reusable SavedModels into or save them from any given model-building API. For Keras, hub.KerasLayer provides the loading, and Keras's built-in saving in the SavedModel format has been redesigned for TF2 with the goal of providing a superset of this interface (see the RFC from May 2019).

Interface definition

Attributes

A Reusable SavedModel is a TensorFlow 2 SavedModel such that obj = tf.saved_model.load(...) returns an object that has the following attributes

  • __call__. Required. A tf.function implementing the model's computation (the "forward pass") subject to the specification below.

  • variables: A list of tf.Variable objects, listing all the variables used by any possible invocation of __call__, including both trainable and non-trainable ones.

    This list can be omitted if empty.

  • trainable_variables: A list of tf.Variable objects such that v.trainable is true for all elements. These variables must be a subset of variables. These are the variables to be trained when fine-tuning the object. The SavedModel creator may choose to omit some variables here that were originally trainable to indicate that these should not be modified during fine-tuning.

    This list can be omitted if empty, in particular, if the SavedModel does not support fine-tuning.

  • regularization_losses: A list of tf.functions, each taking zero inputs and returning a single scalar float tensor. For fine-tuning, the SavedModel user is advised to include these as additional regularization terms into the loss (in the simplest case without further scaling). Typically, these are used to represent weight regularizers. (For lack of inputs, these tf.functions cannot express activity regularizers.)

    This list can be omitted if empty, in particular, if the SavedModel does not support fine-tuning or does not wish to prescribe weight regularization.

The __call__ function

A Restored SavedModel obj has an obj.__call__ attribute that is a restored tf.function and allows obj to be called as follows.

Synopsis (pseudo-code):

outputs = obj(inputs, trainable=..., **kwargs)

Arguments

The arguments are as follows.

  • There is one positional, required argument with a batch of input activations of the SavedModel. Its type is one of

    • a single Tensor for a single input,
    • a list of Tensors for an ordered sequence of unnamed inputs,
    • a dict of Tensors keyed by a particular set of input names.

    (Future revisions of this interface may allow more general nests.) The SavedModel creator chooses one of those and the tensor shapes and dtypes. Where useful, some dimensions of the shape should be undefined (notably batch size).

  • There may be an optional keyword argument training that accepts a Python boolean, True or False. The default is False. If the model supports fine-tuning, and if its computation differs between the two (e.g., as in dropout and batch normalization), that distinction is implemented with this argument. Otherwise, this argument may be absent.

    It is not required that __call__ accept a Tensor-valued training argument. It falls on the caller to use tf.cond() if necessary to dispatch between them.

  • The SavedModel creator may choose to accept more optional kwargs of particular names.

    • For Tensor-valued arguments, the SavedModel creator defines their permissible dtypes and shapes. tf.function accepts a Python default value on an argument that is traced with a tf.TensorSpec input. Such arguments can be used to allow customization of numeric hyperparameters involved in __call__ (e.g., dropout rate).

    • For Python-valued arguments, the SavedModel creator defines their permissible values. Such arguments can be used as flags to make discrete choices in the traced function (but mind the combinatorial explosion of traces).

The restored __call__ function must provide traces for all permissible combinations of arguments. Flipping training between True and False must not change the permissibility of arguments.

Result

The outputs from calling obj can be

  • a single Tensor for a single output,
  • a list of Tensors for an ordered sequence of unnamed outputs,
  • a dict of Tensors keyed by a particular set of output names.

(Future revisions of this interface may allow more general nests.) The return type may vary depending on the Python-valued kwargs. This allows for flags producing extra outputs. The SavedModel creator defines the output dtypes and shapes and their dependency on inputs.

Named callables

A Reusable SavedModel can provide multiple model pieces in the way described above by putting them into named subobjects, for example, obj.foo, obj.bar and so on. Each subobject provides a __call__ method and supporting attributes about the variables etc. specific to that model piece. For the example above, there would be obj.foo.__call__, obj.foo.variables and so on.

Note that this interface does not cover the approach of adding a bare tf.function directly as tf.foo.

Users of Reusable SavedModels are only expected to handle one level of nesting (obj.bar but not obj.bar.baz). (Future revisions of this interface may allow deeper nesting, and may waive the reqirement that the top-level object be callable itself.)

Closing remarks

Relation to in-process APIs

This document describes an interface of a Python class which consists of primitives like tf.function and tf.Variable that survive a round-trip through serialization via tf.saved_model.save() and tf.saved_model.load(). However, the interface was already present on the original object that was passed to tf.saved_model.save(). Adaptation to that interface enables the exchange of model pieces across model-building APIs within a single TensorFlow program.