TensorFlow 2 中 TF Hub 的 SavedModel

建议使用 TensorFlow 2 的 SavedModel 格式在 TensorFlow Hub 上共享预训练模型和模型部分。该格式取代了旧的 TF1 Hub 格式并提供了一组新的 API。

本页将介绍如何使用低级 hub.load() API 及其 hub.KerasLayer 包装器在 TensorFlow 2 程序中重用 TF2 SavedModel。(通常,hub.KerasLayer 将与其他 tf.keras.layers 组合以构建 Keras 模型或 TF2 Estimator 的 model_fn。)这些 API 还可以在有限条件下加载 TF1 Hub 格式的旧模型,请参阅兼容性指南

TensorFlow 1 的用户可以更新到 TF 1.15,并使用相同的 API。更早版本的 TF1 则无法运行。

使用 TF Hub 的 SavedModel

在 Keras 中使用 SavedModel

Keras 是 TensorFlow 的高级 API,用于通过构成 Keras 层对象来构建深度学习模型。tensorflow_hub 库提供了使用 SavedModel 的 URL(或文件系统路径)初始化的 hub.KerasLayer 类,然后提供了 SavedModel 中的计算,包括其预训练权重。

下例使用了预训练的文本嵌入向量:

import tensorflow as tf
import tensorflow_hub as hub

hub_url = "https://tfhub.dev/google/tf2-preview/nnlm-en-dim128/1"
embed = hub.KerasLayer(hub_url)
embeddings = embed(["A long sentence.", "single-word", "http://example.com"])
print(embeddings.shape, embeddings.dtype)

由此,可以使用通常的 Keras 方法构建文本分类器:

model = tf.keras.Sequential([
    embed,
    tf.keras.layers.Dense(16, activation="relu"),
    tf.keras.layers.Dense(1, activation="sigmoid"),
])

文本分类器 Colab 完整地展示了如何训练和评估此类分类器。

hub.KerasLayer 中的模型权重默认情况下设置为不可训练。请参阅下文中有关微调的部分来了解如何更改该设置。按照 Keras 惯例,会在同一层对象的所有应用之间共享权重。

在 Estimator 中使用 SavedModel

使用 TensorFlow 的 Estimator API 进行分布式训练的用户可以通过在 hub.KerasLayer 及其他 tf.keras.layers 方面编写 model_fn 来使用 TF Hub 的 SavedModel。

幕后工作:SavedModel 下载和缓存

使用来自 TensorFlow Hub(或实现其托管协议的其他 HTTPS 服务器)的 SavedModel 时,若尚不存在,需要将其下载并解压到本地文件系统中。可以设置环境变量 TFHUB_CACHE_DIR 以重写用于缓存下载并解压的 SavedModel 的默认临时位置。有关详细信息,请参阅缓存

在低级 TensorFlow 中使用 SavedModel

hub.load(handle) 函数可下载和解压 SavedModel( 除非 handle 已经是文件系统路径),然后返回使用 TensorFlow 的内置函数 tf.saved_model.load() 加载该模型的结果。因此,hub.load() 可以处理任何有效的 SavedModel(与其 TF1 的前身 hub.Module 不同)。

高级主题:完成加载后对 SavedModel 的期望

根据 SavedModel 的内容,obj = hub.load(...) 的结果可通过多种方式调用(TensorFlow 的 SavedModel 指南中提供了更为详细的说明):

  • SavedModel 的服务签名(如有)表示为具体函数的字典,可以像 tensors_out = obj.signatures["serving_default"](**tensors_in) 一样调用,张量的字典由相应的输入和输出名称键控,并受制于签名的形状和数据类型约束。

  • 已保存对象(如有)的 @tf.function 装饰方法恢复为 tf.function 对象,这些对象可通过在保存之前已跟踪 tf.function 的张量和非张量参数的所有组合进行调用。特别是,如果存在带有适当跟踪的 obj.__call__ 方法,则 obj 本身可以像 Python 函数一样调用。output_tensor = obj(input_tensor, training=False) 便是一个简单的示例。

这对 SavedModel 可以实现的接口提供了极大的自由度。obj可重用 SavedModel 接口建立了惯例,使客户端代码(包括 hub.KerasLayer 之类的适配器)知道如何使用 SavedModel。

某些 SavedModel 可能不遵循该惯例,特别是不打算在较大的模型中重用的整个模型,仅提供服务签名。

SavedModel 中的可训练变量重新加载为可训练变量,tf.GradientTape 将在默认情况下对其进行监视。请参阅下文中有关微调的部分来了解一些注意事项,初学者应避免使用微调。如果您想使用微调,也可以查看 obj.trainable_variables 是否建议仅重新训练最初可训练变量的子集。

为 TF Hub 创建 SavedModel

概述

SavedModel 是 TensorFlow 用于已训练模型或模型部分的标准序列化格式。它存储了模型的训练权重以及用于执行其计算的确切 TensorFlow 运算。SavedModel 可独立于创建它的代码单独使用。特别是,它可以在不同的高级建模 API(例如 Keras)之间重用,因为 TensorFlow 运算是它们的通用基本语言。

从 Keras 保存

自 TensorFlow 2 起,tf.keras.Model.save()tf.keras.models.save_model() 默认为 SavedModel 格式(非 HDF5)。生成的 SavedModel 可与 hub.load()hub.KerasLayer 和类似的适配器组合使用,用于其他待提供的高级 API。

要共享完整的 Keras 模型,只需在保存它时设置 include_optimizer=False

要共享一部分 Keras 模型,请将该部分制作成模型,然后保存。您可以从头编写模型代码…

piece_to_share = tf.keras.Model(...)
full_model = tf.keras.Sequential([piece_to_share, ...])
full_model.fit(...)
piece_to_share.save(...)

…也可以在事后提取出要共享的部分(如果它与完整模型的层次一致):

full_model = tf.keras.Model(...)
sharing_input = full_model.get_layer(...).get_output_at(0)
sharing_output = full_model.get_layer(...).get_output_at(0)
piece_to_share = tf.keras.Model(sharing_input, sharing_output)
piece_to_share.save(..., include_optimizer=False)

GitHub 上的 TensorFlow 模型为 BERT 使用前一种方法(请参见 nlp/bert/bert_models.pynlp/bert/export_tfhub.py,请注意 core_modelpretrain_model 间的拆分方式),并为 ResNet 使用后一种方法(请参见 vision/image_classification/tfhub_export.py)。

从低级 TensorFlow 保存

此操作需要充分熟悉 TensorFlow 的 SavedModel 指南

如果您不仅要提供服务签名,则应该实现可重用 SavedModel 接口。从概念上讲,如下所示:

class MyMulModel(tf.train.Checkpoint):
  def __init__(self, v_init):
    super(MyMulModel, self).__init__()
    self.v = tf.Variable(v_init)
    self.variables = [self.v]
    self.trainable_variables = [self.v]
    self.regularization_losses = [
        tf.function(input_signature=[])(lambda: 0.001 * self.v**2),
    ]

  @tf.function(input_signature=[tf.TensorSpec(shape=None, dtype=tf.float32)])
  def __call__(self, inputs):
    return tf.multiply(inputs, self.v)

tf.saved_model.save(MyMulModel(2.0), "/tmp/my_mul")

layer = hub.KerasLayer("/tmp/my_mul")
print(layer([10., 20.]))  # [20., 40.]
layer.trainable = True
print(layer.trainable_weights)  # [2.]
print(layer.losses)  # 0.004

tensorflow/examples/saved_model/integration_tests/ 中的代码包含了更大的样本,特别是 export_mnist.pyuse_mnist.py 对。

微调

对导入的 SavedModel 的已训练变量及其周围模型的变量共同执行训练的过程被称为微调 SavedModel。微调可以实现更好的训练质量,但通常要求也会因此提高(可能需要更多时间,更加依赖优化器及其超参数,提高了过拟合的风险,并且需要扩充数据集,尤其是对于 CNN)。我们建议 SavedModel 使用者仅在建立良好的训练制度后,并且仅在 SavedModel 发布者建议的情况下实施微调。

微调会更改已训练的“连续”模型参数。它不会改变硬编码转换,例如令牌化文本输入以及将令牌映射到其嵌入矩阵中的相应条目。

针对 SavedModel 使用者

创建 hub.KerasLayer,如

layer = hub.KerasLayer(..., trainable=True)

将对由层加载的 SavedModel 启用微调。SavedModel 中声明的可训练权重和权重正则化项将添加到 Keras 模型,并在训练模式下运行 SavedModel 的计算(随机失活等)。

图像分类 Colab 中提供了包含可选微调的端到端训练示例。

重新导出微调结果

高级用户可能希望将微调的结果重新保存为 SavedModel 以便使用,取代最初加载的模型。可使用以下代码完成此操作:

loaded_obj = hub.load("https://tfhub.dev/...")
hub_layer = hub.KerasLayer(loaded_obj, trainable=True, ...)

model = keras.Sequential([..., hub_layer, ...])
model.compile(...)
model.fit(...)

export_module_dir = os.path.join(os.getcwd(), "finetuned_model_export")
tf.saved_model.save(loaded_obj, export_module_dir)

针对 SavedModel 创建者

创建要在 TensorFlow Hub 上共享的 SavedModel 时,请提前考虑使用者是否以及应如何微调模型,并在文档中提供指南。

从 Keras 模型保存 SavedModel 时,应使微调的所有机制全部生效(保存权重正则化损失、声明可训练变量、在 training=Truetraining=False 情况下跟踪 __call__ 等)。

选择能够适应梯度流(例如,输出 logits 而非 softmax 概率或 top-k 预测)的模型接口。

如果模型使用随机失活、批次归一化或涉及超参数的类似训练技术,请将超参数设置为对多种预期目标问题和批次大小均有意义的值。(截至撰写本文时,从 Keras 保存 SavedModel 尚不便于使用者进行调节,但请参见 tensorflow/examples/saved_model/integration_tests/export_mnist_cnn.py 来了解一些粗略的解决方法。)

各个层上的权重正则化器(及其正则化强度系数)将得到保存,但优化器(例如 tf.keras.optimizers.Ftrl.l1_regularization_strength=...))内部的权重正则化将丢失。请向您的 SavedModel 的使用者提出相应建议。

SavedModels from TF Hub in TensorFlow 2

The SavedModel format of TensorFlow 2 is the recommended way to share pre-trained models and model pieces on TensorFlow Hub. It replaces the older hub.Module format for TensorFlow 1 and comes with a new set of APIs.

This page explains how to reuse TF2 SavedModels in a TensorFlow 2 program with the low-level hub.load() API and its hub.KerasLayer wrapper. (Typically, hub.KerasLayer is combined with other tf.keras.layers to build a Keras model or the model_fn of a TF2 Estimator.) These APIs can also load the older hub.Modules for TF1, within limits, see the migration guide.

Users of TensorFlow 1 can update to TF 1.15 and then use the same APIs. Older versions of TF1 do not work.

Using SavedModels from TF Hub

Using a SavedModel in Keras

Keras is TensorFlow's high-level API for building deep learning models by composing Keras Layer objects. The tensorflow_hub library provides the class hub.KerasLayer that gets initialized with the URL (or filesystem path) of a SavedModel and then provides the computation from the SavedModel, including its pre-trained weights.

Here is an example of using a pre-trained text embedding:

import tensorflow as tf
import tensorflow_hub as hub

hub_url = "https://tfhub.dev/google/tf2-preview/nnlm-en-dim128/1"
embed = hub.KerasLayer(hub_url)
embeddings = embed(["A long sentence.", "single-word", "http://example.com"])
print(embeddings.shape, embeddings.dtype)

From this, a text classifier can be built in the usual Keras way:

model = tf.keras.Sequential([
    embed,
    tf.keras.layers.Dense(16, activation="relu"),
    tf.keras.layers.Dense(1, activation="sigmoid"),
])

The Text classification colab is a complete example how to train and evaluate such a classifier.

The model weights in a hub.KerasLayer are set to non-trainable by default. See the section on fine-tuning below for how to change that. Weights are shared between all applications of the same layer object, as usual in Keras.

Using a SavedModel in an Estimator

Users of TensorFlow's Estimator API for distributed training can use SavedModels from TF Hub by writing their model_fn in terms of hub.KerasLayer among other tf.keras.layers.

Behind the scenes: SavedModel downloading and caching

Using a SavedModel from TensorFlow Hub (or other HTTPS servers that implement its hosting protocol) downloads it to the local filesystem if not already present. The environment variable TFHUB_CACHE_DIR can be set to override the default temporary location for caching the downloaded and uncompressed SavedModels.

Using a SavedModel in low-level TensorFlow

The function hub.load(handle) downloads and decompresses a SavedModel (unless handle is already a filesystem path) and then returns the result of loading it with TensorFlow's built-in function tf.saved_model.load(). Therefore, hub.load() can handle any valid SavedModel (unlike its predecessor hub.Module for TF1).

Advanced topic: what to expect from the SavedModel after loading

Depending on the contents of the SavedModel, the result of obj = hub.load(...) can be invoked in various ways (as explained in much greater detail in TensorFlow's SavedModel Guide:

  • The serving signatures of the SavedModel (if any) are represented as a dictionary of concrete functions and can be called like tensors_out = obj.signatures["serving_default"](**tensors_in), with dictionaries of tensors keyed by the respective input and output names and subject to the signature's shape and dtype constraints.

  • The @tf.function-decorated methods of the saved object (if any) are restored as tf.function objects that can be called by all combinations of Tensor and non-Tensor arguments for which the tf.function had been traced prior to saving. In particular, if there is an obj.__call__ method with suitable traces, obj itself can be called like a Python function. A simple example could look like output_tensor = obj(input_tensor, training=False).

This leaves enormous liberty in the interfaces that SavedModels can implement. The Reusable SavedModels interface for obj establishes conventions such that client code, including adapters like hub.KerasLayer, know how to use the SavedModel.

Some SavedModels may not follow that convention, especially whole models not meant to be reused in larger models, and just provide serving signatures.

The trainable variables in a SavedModel are reloaded as trainable, and tf.GradientTape will watch them by default. See the section on fine-tuning below for some caveats, and consider avoiding this for starters. Even if you want to fine-tune, you may want to see if obj.trainable_variables advises to re-train only a subset of the originally trainable variables.

Creating SavedModels for TF Hub

Overview

SavedModel is TensorFlow's standard serialization format for trained models or model pieces. It stores the model's trained weights together with the exact TensorFlow operations to perform its computation. It can be used independently from the code that created it. In particular, it can be reused across different high-level model-building APIs like Keras, because TensorFlow operations are their common basic language.

Saving from Keras

Starting with TensorFlow 2, tf.keras.Model.save() and tf.keras.models.save_model() default to the SavedModel format (not HDF5). The resulting SavedModels that can be used with hub.load(), hub.KerasLayer and similar adapters for other high-level APIs as they become available.

To share a complete Keras Model, just save it with include_optimizer=False.

To share a piece of a Keras Model, make the piece a Model in itself and then save that. You can either lay out the code like that from the start....

piece_to_share = tf.keras.Model(...)
full_model = tf.keras.Sequential([piece_to_share, ...])
full_model.fit(...)
piece_to_share.save(...)

...or cut out the piece to share after the fact (if it aligns with the layering of your full model):

full_model = tf.keras.Model(...)
sharing_input = full_model.get_layer(...).get_output_at(0)
sharing_output = full_model.get_layer(...).get_output_at(0)
piece_to_share = tf.keras.Model(sharing_input, sharing_output)
piece_to_share.save(..., include_optimizer=False)

TensorFlow Models on GitHub uses the former approach for BERT (see nlp/bert_models.py and nlp/bert/export_tfhub.py, note the split between core_model and pretrain_model) and the the latter approach for ResNet (see vision/image_classification/tfhub_export.py).

Saving from low-level TensorFlow

This requires good familiarity with TensorFlow's SavedModel Guide.

If you want to provide more than just a serving signature, you should implement the Reusable SavedModel interface. Conceptually, this looks like

class MyMulModel(tf.train.Checkpoint):
  def __init__(self, v_init):
    super(MyMulModel, self).__init__()
    self.v = tf.Variable(v_init)
    self.variables = [self.v]
    self.trainable_variables = [self.v]
    self.regularization_losses = [
        tf.function(input_signature=[])(lambda: 0.001 * self.v**2),
    ]

  @tf.function(input_signature=[tf.TensorSpec(shape=None, dtype=tf.float32)])
  def __call__(self, inputs):
    return tf.multiply(inputs, self.v)

tf.saved_model.save(MyMulModel(2.0), "/tmp/my_mul")

layer = hub.KerasLayer("/tmp/my_mul")
print(layer([10., 20.]))  # [20., 40.]
layer.trainable = True
print(layer.trainable_weights)  # [2.]
print(layer.losses)  # 0.004

The code at tensorflow/examples/saved_model/integration_tests/ contains larger examples, esp. the export_mnist.py and use_mnist.py pair.

Fine-Tuning

Training the already-trained variables of an imported SavedModel together with those of the model around it is called fine-tuning the SavedModel. This can result in better quality, but often makes the training more demanding (may take more time, depend more on the optimizer and its hyperparameters, increase the risk of overfitting and require dataset augmentation, esp. for CNNs). We advise SavedModel consumers to look into fine-tuning only after having established a good training regime, and only if the SavedModel publisher recommends it.

For SavedModel consumers

Creating a hub.KerasLayer like

layer = hub.KerasLayer(..., trainable=True)

enables fine-tuning of the SavedModel loaded by the layer. It adds the trainable weights and weight regularizers declared in the SavedModel to the Keras model, and runs the SavedModel's computation in training mode (think of dropout etc.).

The image classification colab contains an end-to-end example with optional fine-tuning.

For SavedModel creators

When creating a SavedModel for sharing on TensorFlow Hub, think ahead if and how its consumers should fine-tune it, and provide guidance in the documentation.

Saving from a Keras Model should make all the mechanics of fine-tuning work (saving weight regularization losses, declaring trainable variables, tracing __call__ for both training=True and training=False, etc.)

Choose a model interface that plays well with gradient flow, e.g., output logits instead of softmax probabilities or top-k predictions.

If the model use dropout, batch normalization, or similar training techniques that involve hyperparameters, set them to values that make sense across many expected target problems and batch sizes. (As of this writing, saving from Keras does not make it easy to let consumers adjust them, but see tensorflow/examples/saved_model/integration_tests/export_mnist.py for some crude workarounds.)

Weight regularizers on individual layers are saved (with their regularization strength coefficients), but weight regularization from within the optimizer (like tf.keras.optimizers.Ftrl.l1_regularization_strength=...)) is lost. Advise consumers of your SavedModel accordingly.